Warringah, Governor Phillip Lookout


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
October 17th 2001
Published: September 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Easy day today, as I’ve had a really busy couple of days back-to-back. We drive to the Warringah Mall today, so that I can get some bits and pieces for my tour. At Big W, the Australian equivalent of Woolworth’s, I bought a rimmed akubra hat to keep the sun off. Also in the shopping basket were some batteries, a water bottle, and two more triple-packs of camera film. From the Angus Robertson book store I got two videos, The Odd Couple and The Odd Couple 2. Then we stopped off at the Australian Geographic shop where I got a hat net to keep the ‘mozzies’ away from my face, an ‘Olgas’ poster, as it looked brilliant, and some ‘Bush Blends’ scented candles for Mike, as it would ‘chill’ him out. Whilst in the mall, I also got two camera films processed.

From here, we took a short drive on to Governor Phillip Lookout, and I take a great panoramic photo showing Harbord, Manly, North Head, South Head, Mosman, Sydney and Chatswood. Then we went for a walk along Long Reef, and watched some guy hand-gliding around the coastline. We also walked alongside the Long Reef links golf course, and looked out to the sea. Long Reef is surrounded by a wide rock shelf, meaning that when the tide was out, there was hundred of little rock pools. There was also a lookout point where whales can and have been spotted on many occasions during their annual journey from Antarctica to the Tropics where they give birth to their young in the shallow waters. The weather was cooler today, due to a fresher wind, though it was still about 23°C.

During the evening, we watched my new ‘Odd Couple’ video, which was hilarious.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb