Griffith June 2003


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
November 30th 1999
Published: November 30th 1999
Edit Blog Post

1 June 2003
About nine-thirty in the morning I was in my car, starting a five-hour drive to Griffith in NSW. One stop along the way was to photograph a small flock of sheep. All this year I have been looking for a single black sheep within a flock. The one I found had a mate and it took nearly half a roll of film trying to separate them. I might have one good shot. Mind you, the sheep I saw through the viewfinder was pretty scrubby looking.
Just as I turned onto the Kidman Highway north of Jerilderie, I saw a mob of cattle heading along the side of the road. I took half a dozen shots as they passed. I also managed to have a yarn with one of the drovers who told me about life on the long paddock.
Upon my arrival in Griffith I made a four night booking at my usual motel.

4 June 2003
Each time I arrive at the Griffith East Pre-School I’m made most welcome by the ladies. They are so helpful I can finish photographing forty children between nine-thirty and mid-day without any problems.
The children range between three and four years of age. Only one of the four days I spent at the kindergarten did the numbers full below twenty.
Because I have visited the local museums, lookouts and travelled to the nearby national parks I find my afternoons very boring. Fortunately cable TV in this motel gave some relief before six in the evening when I left the unit and made the trip to the local club for my evening meal.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0865s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb