Lulu Lemon and Some Global Experience


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
July 29th 2016
Published: July 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

After another failed attempt at reading my sociology homework, I figured I'd write a completely pointless update on my life here in Sydney. Last night, a bunch of us girls decided to go out to a club, Ivy. We had heard that it was free to go on Thursday's, and decided that any club you have to pay to get into must be good. So off we went, a group of maybe 25 of us from Northeastern took our first group venture to what turned out to be the most amazing place I've ever been in. Literally, this place had a pool INSIDE. I sadly didn't get to go swimming, but there are many more Thursdays to come. We finally ventured home a little after 1 AM, and snuggled up with some mac and cheese to discuss the many dramas and laughs of the night. All in all, it was so much fun.

This morning, I woke up absolutely starving only to realize all I had left for food was ramen, orange juice, chicken, mayo and cheese. None of which I figured were breakfast foods, and I was especially angry with myself for using my last egg the day before. It seems as though each time I go food shopping, I still come home and have nothing to eat... is this what adult life is like? If so, may I withdraw my application? I miss my fridge at home... and my mom's food shopping. And her budget for food shopping, which is much greater than the price of textbooks are allowing me to have. Luckily, I have some lovely friends who are much more skilled in the kitchen than I have ever been, and they make sure I'm well fed. I literally sit at the table with my plate in front of me until they're done preparing my food because I am too incapable of doing it myself... gotta love good friends.

After what seemed like the longest walk to campus of my entire life (the wind was cold and stung my nose), I bought myself a delicious iced vanilla coffee before my global experience class. This class is only geared towards NUin students, and I'm still really not sure what we do, other than at the end of the semester I turn in a video, describing and illustrating my (global) experience here in Sydney (let the picture and video taking commence!). Today in GE class, we watched the music video for Billy Joel's "We Didn't Start the Fire"... twice. Still not entirely sure why, but I love our instructors (also our site leads so we know them much better than any professor) so I'll trust that they know what they're doing.

Although my budget may not allocate food shopping this week (or next), it did allow me a little splurging today as we found ourselves at the Lulu Lemon warehouse sale. Now, I have never been to a warehouse sale before, but I do love me some Lulu. Walking through the doors of this vast warehouse felt amazing, similar to what I imagine entering through Heaven's golden gates is like (this might be a stretch but just go with it). Leggings as far as the eye could see, outerwear and down jackets that normally would've cost a month's mortgage payment, sports bras galore and even bathing suits! Yes, Lulu makes bathing suits! I had no idea until today! But now I own three! Life is amazing.

My heavenly trip to the warehouse came to an (expensive) end, and it was oh so worth it. I just want stare at my pretty new clothes forever. But, if I want to continue having spending habits as I do now, I really can't afford to fail college classes- so off to sociology it was. My endeavor with chapter 14 in my textbook was cut short, because my friends wanted to watch She's The Man, and if you have seen that movie then I'm sure you understand why homework took the backseat this time. But there's always tomorrow! (Or not... the Lulu sale goes all weekend *wink wink*)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1142s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb