Bondi Bay Watch


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
July 22nd 2016
Published: July 22nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was absolutely amazing.

I woke up feeling better than I had in days- I felt healthier, felt happier and I was so ready for the day. I decided to go get some coffee with one of the girls, so we walked up to the Central Mall and found the cutest little cafe called Koffie. Apparently, some places in Australia do iced coffee a little differently because my iced coffee was made with espresso and milk poured over ice and a scoop of coffee flavored gelato. Let me tell you, this coffee was life changing. It was like latte meets milkshake. You've never had iced coffee until you've had it with gelato at 8 AM.

At 10, we left Urbanest to take the train to the beautiful Bondi Beach. It was chilly when we first left, but for a day during winter I was happy considering we were headed to the beach. As soon as our bus pulled up to the stop at Bondi, I understood why it was one of the most famous beaches. It was breathtakingly beautiful, the water was a crisp blue and the waves were larger than any I was used to seeing at Nantasket beach. The sand was a creamy off white and smooth as ever, with virtually no shells or rocks or anything else that may stab your toes while you walk. Surfers were a few hundred feet off the shore, which was another thing I was not used to seeing. It was still early in the day, not quite noon yet, but we decided to lay out anyways.

Soon enough, the sun came down and warmed us up and made it feel like a real beach day. This is when the most amazing thing happened. Laying on a beach in Sydney, Australia, I had some type of revelation. Most people save up money their entire lives just to come here and cross it off their bucket lists! And I get to live here! For four months! And get an education at one of the top universities in the world! This epiphany hit me like a truck, because I had been more than miserable my first week here. I missed home, my friends, family and my routine and life that I was so used to living everyday. I was too dependent on everyone at home, and being pulled out of that life hurt like hell but it had to be done. I have great friends here, we're in such a beautiful place and I'm happy. I'm determined to be happy.

After some lunch at the beach in a restaurant ironically named "The Bucket List" and some sangria to top it all off, we headed back towards home. We got distracted by some frozen yogurt and a little market outside the train station to do some shopping, but by then the sun had exhausted us and we needed showers, clean clothes and maybe a little nap.

A nice warm shower and some clean running shorts can really work wonders after a long day at the beach. I felt human again after baking in the lovely Australian sun for hours. Later in the night, a bunch of us girls gathered in one apartment to bake some banana bread, try to decode the mystery that is the University of Sydney student website, and of course drink lots of wine.

All in all, yesterday was the best day of my trip so far and I'm determined to stay happy and have many, many more happy days.

Advertisement



22nd July 2016

Loved the blog and pictures from the beach. So glad you had your epiphany

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb