Mrs Macquarie's Chair


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
February 10th 2015
Published: February 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

As usual when I woke up to rain this morning I didn't really know what I was going to do for the day. I realised it was about time I got my medicare card sorted -it basically lets me claim back and medical fees from seeing a GP or nurse I believe. Elliot had to take his form too so we went together to the office. The wait was about 30 minutes to see somebody and when I got to the from of the queue the woman just looked at my passport and visa and said they would send it in the post within three weeks. Lucky I have my auntie's address to have it sent to because I don't know how other travellers manage that, who knows where I'll be in three weeks!

I then went to circular quay again to meet Kennedy for lunch. We sat outside looking at the harbour which was such a nice place to sit and eat. We then tried to find Mrs Macquarie's chair because I'd read on the internet that its the best place to stand to see the bridge and opera house. Kennedy asked somebody which way to go but instead of calling it Macquarie like contrary she said mack-arey which for some reason we found hilarious. Anyway, we walked through the botanical gardens following the signs for the chair until we got to what looked like the end of the headland and a really good view of the harbour. We wandered around the area but couldn't find a chair anywhere! I don't know if it's more of a metaphorical chair or what but we definitely could find a real chair.

We walked back through the gardens because there was quite a lot to look at in there. We found an outdoor cinema which overlooks the harbour but it costs over $30 for a ticket. However we started talking to the guy at the entrance and he told us a really good spot just behind the fenced off cinema area where you can watch the film for free with just as good view, how cool! Me and Kennedy definitely want to go back and do that if we can. Once we'd seen most of the garden we made our way back to the train station but Kennedy realised she didn't know which station she had to go to for her cousins house which is where shes staying in Sydney. As she was texting her cousin her phoned died so we walked around trying to find a Starbucks so she could charge her phone and find her way home. After basically waking round in circles we found one and ordered a drink; the guy who served us thought I was from London and Kennedy was from Manchester from our accents. I don't mind sounding like I'm from London because that's just a generic British accent to lots of foreigners probably but God knows why he thought Kennedy was from Manchester haha!

We got our separate trains home and I walked back to Karen's from the station which, like yesterday, was so warm even though it was dark. Karen got her fortune cards or something out for me to do and it came up with things like this is a good time to travel, you'll be meeting new people, you are unlikely to have a stable residence for the foreseeable future and all things that were surprisingly apt. We did it for her as well and it was really interesting seeing what comes up. After spending a few hours talking I went to bed and looked up places to go next and things so that I can start making a bit of a plan bechase at the moment I dont have anything sorted after Sydney.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 16; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb