Goodbye Australia!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
November 12th 2011
Published: November 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well I have finally finished my time in Australia and it was sssooooo good. For the last few days I spent a night in Brisbane before heading down to Sydney for the last 3 nights of my trip.
There isn't really much to say about Brisbane, it's a nice enough city but there isn't really that much to do there in terms of tourism. They have the Southbank which is pretty cool, it's basically a beach and lagoon in the middle of the city but when I went it was the weekend and was really hot so was absolutely packed with screaming children, needless to say that I didn't stay there too long. They also had an outdoor cinema which looked pretty cool especially seeing as they gave out Ben and Jerry's but by the time I got there is was sold out, they were showing Breakfast At Tiffanys which would have been so good.
Moving on from Brisbane I got the longest bus in the world (I think it was 17 hours) overnight to Sydney. On arrival I had to somehow find my hostel which wasn't as easy as I thought it might be seeing as it turns out that Sydney is actually quite a big place and there aren't signs telling you where anything is or road names so that made life interesting. I did find it eventually though and it was definitely the worst hostel that I have stayed in so far, mainly because I was sleeping in the top bunk of a broken bed and didn't dare move for most of the night. I was also sharing with 6 boys who didn't really smell that great and snored so loudly. One of them was French though so that made up for a lot :D.
As for Sydney itself, it is definitely the best city I visited mainly because there are actually things to do there. I was staying a 10 minute walk from the Opera House and Harbour Bridge which was excellent. The Opera House is a lot smaller than I thought it would be though and also a different colour (for some reason I thought it was silver). I went there just as it was getting dark though which was cool because I got to see in with the lights on and the harbour in the background, my camera battery died though so I don't actually have any photos of it like that 😞.
On my last day in Australia I headed up to the Blue Mountains which, I am reliably informed, is what the Grand Canyon will look like in a few thousand years time. We went to a few lookout points and went for a wander around the rainforesty bit which also used to be a coal mine and they have the steepest railway in the world to get down to it...that wasn't so fun. Finally we headed out to somewhere with wild kangaroos and our tour guide ran around in the bush trying to chase them out, I think that was more entertaining than actually seeing the kangaroos.
So that pretty much ends my time in Australia, I have now arrived in New Zealand and it is just as beautiful as I thought it would be. I am starting conservation work in the next few days so will get back to you with an update on that.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb