From Cairns to Sydney, now back to Belgium!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 6th 2006
Published: May 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey, well this will be my last travelblog! First of all there was something wrong with the download of the pictures.....so will fix that later.
Beside that, I traveled trough the east-coast of Oz land over the last 3 weeks. While leaving Cairns I just reached a point were I'm satisfied with what I've done. Not hungry any more to C more at the moment. So I decided to visit 2 more spots on the east coast: Noosa and Byron Bay before heading to Sydney.

So after Cairns I went to Noosa, a lovely, relaxed and quit a posh town above Brisbane. The town is full of nice houses (it's called the St-tropez of the east coast), nice beaches, bars....
I hired a bike so that I had some exercise again(...getting laizy here) Of course, relaxing @ the beach was part of it as well.

After a week under a blue sky I went to Byron Bay, the party place of the east-coast, famous for the hippies as well. (the whole east-coast is a party place but this one in particular). Same here...relax on the beach during the day and parties in the evening. After 3 days had enough and decided to move on.

Next stop:Sydney: great town! nice parks, nice harbour, bars, restaurants etc. Lot of people prefer Melbourne, well can't say I do as well, To me Sydney has something "cousy". Arriving at the Opera House was special, I had quit mixed feelings with that, it's like when you finish a great book: great that you did read it, but sad that it's already finished. So I'm glad I did this trip but I have also many things to look forward to now: C my famely and friends back,find an apartment, find a car, continue kitesurf, enjoy belgium for a bit, it's almost summer there: a good beer on a terras, great festivals, my own bed, a decent kitchen to coock.....

Yesterday I did my last trip into nature: the Blue Mountains, a national park 150 km from Sydney (from a distance the mountains look blue due to the ecalyptus-oil in the air). Great day out, nice views etc.

I lived out a backpack for almost 5 months and must say, it was a great experience. Top was the mountainbike trop in Kenya/Tanzania and all the hikes in Maleysia, most relaxed moments was the 2 weeks on Kho Pha Gnan in Thailand. Any regrets....never. Australia is a country were you need more then 4 weeks of holiday as distances are so big, so I'm glad I did it now. Beside that the people a just great! For those who want to come: do the west-coast, and don't forget to do karijini NP, that was to me the nicest spot Down Under. Understood that between Broome and Darwin is also great. Will I come back to Australia...probably not, next destinations: Argentina? Uganda? New Zealand? China? But first enjoy fantastic Belgium. My home is where my Stella is:-)


Maybe there will be another blog in June, I might go for a week to....????. We'll C :-)

hope you enjoyed this blog, if not, then I hope you didn't waste your time reading it:-)

cheers mates!
Tim

note: I read quit some good books over the last months: would highly recommend the following books: The Alchemist, The white Masai and The shadow of the wind. Oh if the movie: 8 Below is already released in Belgium: go and C it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Sydney Opera HouseSydney Opera House
Sydney Opera House

this felt like.....The End


8th May 2006

phone calls
Hello dear, Sorry we got cut off last week and haven't called you back. Mischa's phone ran out of credit! And now you are going to be home so soon!!!! Weather lovely here. We had a party on Friday on the canal and i was dying on saturday, so nothing changed really (I still can't drink). Pls let us know the exact day you are back. See you very soon. Sue XXX
8th May 2006

content
Ewel, Timmeke, eerste en laatste berichtje, maar ik zen blij da we u terug onder ons gaan hemme zenne ... welcome back mate!!!! dikke kus, Sab
16th May 2006

Welcome back!
Bravo Tim, you made it!!!!! So nice to hear you enjoyed it and.....I understand how much you miss home after 5 months. I'm in Cincinnati right now and.....I never thought I could miss Europe that much!!! Life is so boring here, there's absolutely NOTHING around (a part from Mc Donald's, Burgers Cheese, Wendy's, and many many other Fast food). I just can't make it anymore smelling greasy food everywhere I go here...... :-(( So Dear, welcome back to Europe and....hope to see you soon! Baci, Anto

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb