On my way


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 28th 2010
Published: June 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Sydney in the early evening and after spending the night at an airport hotel, was back at the airport at 07.30 to wait for my 14 hour flight to Johannesburg, SA.
I really enjoy large international airports it represents the start of an adventure or journey, it amazes me that thousands or tens of thousands of people cross paths for a few seconds every day all on their own journey and with their own story.
I pass the time people watching and trying to imagine their stories; there is the middle aged rotund man in a shiny suit and with a comb over off to meet this new bride he met on the internet, the women with bleached blond hair, wearing every imaginable label and looking very much like "a footballers wife" off to purchase a weekend retreat in the sun, then there is the very confident sharply dressed man with a cell phone permanently pressed to his ear on his way to complete a arms deal, OK so now Im getting carried away, but you get my gist.
I wonder if anyone wonders what my story is.
So why am I doing this trip? I have always wanted to do voluntary work, just never been sure what type, so this gives me an opportunity to experience a few different ones. I also think to work in a place gives one an a better understanding of a different culture and lifestyle. I have now illuitions that my contribution of a few weeks here and there will make any major difference, but if everyone did a little bit then anything is possible, so this is my little bit.
My other reason is that every now and then, i like to put myself outside my comfort zone, give myself challenges to test my self reliance and ability to cope, it also is a little bit scary and get the adrenaline pumping and remines me that I am very much alive (andI hope I come out alive).
I can not beleive it is over 20 years since I was last in Jo'burg, I am interested to see the changes......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.311s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.2445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb