My Town, Sydney!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 24th 2004
Published: May 24th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Sydney Opera HouseSydney Opera HouseSydney Opera House

Framed by the Harbour Bridge
My first month in Sydney I hated it! Mainly I was just frustrated that I couldn’t find a job. Then I realized that’s just the way life is in a big city and once I found my niche I began to LOVE it! I started attending St. Paul’s, a Lutheran church in the city, and met heaps of people my age who were fun and helpful (I ended up living with many of them for short periods of time) and best of all they were actual aussies unlike the friends I made in New Zealand who were mostly travellers.

I worked in telemarketing, at Subway, at Oporto (a fast food chicken place), at Donut Express (classy, I know), I house-sat, I even counted ballots for the New South Wales election. And I made good money at it too: $16.50/hr at Subway and up to $28/hr at the ballot counting (only on Sunday).

I still had plenty of time to wander around the city and see all the amazing sites. It truly became a second home to me. In fact, I now know my way around Sydney better than any Canadian city including Ottawa, no joke!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Sydney HarbourSydney Harbour
Sydney Harbour

I took this picture from the bridge.
You sank my battleship!You sank my battleship!
You sank my battleship!

The National Maritime Museum
Washing Machine or Esky?Washing Machine or Esky?
Washing Machine or Esky?

Creative uses for household appliances.
OportoOporto
Oporto

Yes, I actually had to wear that shirt.
Going away dinnerGoing away dinner
Going away dinner

Some of the St.Paul's gang: Jenny, Nick, Rachel, Kristian, Younghee, Dave


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb