Wow I'm bad at this...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 23rd 2009
Published: May 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

So it's been over a month since I've written, and I'm feeling pretty bad about it. Really, this is like journal writing, so why can't I do it?!?! SIGH..... alright here we go, brief recap of break week 2. Me and a group of my friends went to New Zealand for a week, and it was incredible. We stayed in Auckland from Monday to Thursday, then went down to Rotorua, Taupo, and visited sites. In Auckland, we travelled to a surrounding island called Waiheke, did a free tour of the city, went shopping (of course), went out together, watched all five of my DVDs, took insane amounts of pictures, and oh went SKYDIVING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! There's such a long story to my jump, but pretty much I was petrified and really freaking out yet I knew that I'd be so mad at myself if I didn't do it. Up I go with one of the gals, Liz, and the flight up's like 10 minutes (or so it felt). Then the door opens, she goes, and it's my turn. Of course, I begin to panic, and them my right leg gets stuck in the plane, with my left leg hanging in the air 12,000 feet or so up. The pilot and my instructor had to grab my leg and yank it out to go otherwise we'd miss the right timing. I was about to cop out, and then suddenly I was in the air, and all of my fears vanished. Seeing the world from above is like nothing else, and I was in love with it. Free-falling is about a minute, and you see the whole world stretch out beneath you as you fly through the clouds- we jump from above the clouds and go through them! This rush was better than anything else I've experienced in my life, and I was so enthralled and my adrenaline was pumping. Only bad part was that we do loops as we come down, and my stomach did NOT like it, and then I landed and fell right to my knees they were shaking so bad. Otherwise, fabulous day! Then on Friday, the next day, we went down to the Blackwater Glowworm Caves and went rafting 100 meters under the rocks. SOOOOO cold, but tons of fun in our wetsuits. Returned to Auckland on Saturday night, went out to a live band pub, and had a great night. The trip led to so many inside jokes, memories, and funny occurrences that will be with me for the rest of my life, both good and bad.

Pictures are up on facebook, so go there to look at the four albums I believe it is 😊
Or you can just see them when I get home as for some reason I can't figure out how to upload them here.

Alright, that was a brief recap of break, I need to go get ready for a mini-trip into the city with Kristen to figure out our Blue Mountains day trip, then back here and who knows!!!

I've got the world in my hands, freedom to be me, incredible friends, and a good life- what more could I ever ask for? All my love to everyone, and more to come later xoxo <3

Advertisement



Tot: 0.314s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2694s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb