Redfern


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
February 1st 2006
Published: February 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

My walk through Darlinghurst landed me in Rushcutters Bay from where I took a bus to Double Bay or Rose Bay, neither of which yielded to the charms of the flag due mostly to no people. I caught a bus to Bondi Junction in hope of better things. In vain. Desperate, I boarded a train for the city when I saw that it went to Redfern. This seemed like a good idea until I thought of what I knew of it, mostly media moments seen in WA, not flattering. I stood on the corner nearest the train station not knowing what would happen. The story is that I had one of the best receptions anywhere. Redfern is very diverse. Stickers were going out at a good clip to all and sundry. Thanks Redfern for your enthusiasm. As it was too early to retire to the pub, I went back to the city. I wanted to meet with the owner of The Republic bar and ask him if he wanted a flag to fly on the flagpole on top of the building. Finally got to meet him and he is a committed republican but wasn't quite ready to take the leap, which I can respect as he's got commercial realities to consider.
Here I'll enter as a matter of record the early stages of my anthem effort.
I said I wouldn't do it but by popular demand.
Rough draft:

Australia, Australia, Australia
Land of a radient sun
Australia, Australia, Australia
Land that is our lovely home
We your lucky people
will tend your web of life,
knowing that the future depends on all of us.

Refrain:
Widgeemoultha, Meekatharra
Gidgeganup, Gundagai
Mullumbimbee, Oonadatta
Ulladulla, Narabri

Australia, Australia, Australia
Land of an ancient rock
Australia, Australia, Australia
Land of an ancient stock.
We you many peoples work well in harmony
building a prosperous nation
for all the world to see.

Refrain:

Here we will sing our flora and fauna
underconstruction
bottlebrush, waratah, wattle, roo
rainbow lorikeet, platypus
tassie devil, huon pine
bowerbird, frillnecked lizard
etc
It will rhyme, give me time



















Advertisement



Tot: 0.613s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.4495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb