Coming down


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 27th 2006
Published: January 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The frenzy couldn't continue so today returned to "normal". I did get an email from a friend in WA saying we got an article in the "West Australian".
I started this morning at channel 7 again. they didn't come out for an "on air" shot but.
So it seemed a quiet morning. I resolved to walk to Glebe only because I had met a couple from Glebe who owned a bookstore when I was in Ulladulla two years ago. It was a pleasant walk. Glebe was cool änd stickers were popular. Its a bit of a scene because Sydney University is there. Didn't find them but had a $6 piece of chocolate cake. Hey, the place up the road wanted $6.50. Then some girl who loved the flag and got three stickers said I should go up to this town in the Blue Mountains -Catoomba- and I could get there for $15 and a two hour train ride, I said that was cheap but she wasn't sure. Then she says I should get a Seniors Card and ride for $2.50 anywhere. That sounded good. All this is to say I set out to get to the Centrelink office in Leichardt which was up Parramatta Road. Suffice it to say this major artery is not in the tourist brochures as a walking trail. I got there only to find it takes three weeks to get the card. The amazing thing was that I actually spruiked some stickers on the way. And I'm pleased and proud to say that I spruiked Leichardt. A bus ride back. The driver got a sticker as well as a couple of guys on the bus.
Later I found myself at the "Don Quijote" bar waved in by a bunch of guys who turned out to be bankers. They bought me a beer. We had a lively discussion.
Normal.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0184s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb