Sydney to Byron Bay, Surf Camp


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
November 29th 2008
Published: November 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sydney to Byron Bay


Waves Surf School






Hey Hey!!

So... for the past week I have been in the boonies at a surf camp - what a blast!! We were picked up on the monday in Sydney & drove to the camp site (as I said, the middle of nowhere, near Seal Rocks to give you an idea). The location was amazing - although very iscolated, were surrounded by a strand of 10 beautiful, uncrowded beaches with perfect waves. Because the week was absolutely action-packed, I'm going to give you a "breifing" if you will...

DAY 1:
• picked up by the bus - they advertized the bus as being AC, comfortable seating, with a DVD player. We got on a nice little rickety "midget bus/van"... most uncomfortable seating, boiling hot, no DVD player & our sound system even broke down on the way... haha... they told us that we do in fact get on that "amazingly advertized bus", but not until the thursday!! We just all laughed about it... a little false advertising perhaps??
• sat with a nice German girl named Nana Lipps - is it just me, or does that kind of sound like a stripper's name? lol - very cool girl, we became good pals
• went to the first beach, had our first lesson - "standing up" - and I actually stood up!! and got demolished by a number of waves too...
• drove to our accomodation - a pretty "cozy" cabin (in the sense you had little moving space or any privacy)
• took a quick shower & then the party began... and continued... and continued... they had an awesome cabana with a pool, bar, dance floor, couches, etc.
• I decided that I was going to use the bush as a bathroom, because there was a line up for the girls' bathroom - on my way (in the pitch black) I fell face first into a swamp... hahaha it was quite comical & I will soon have the picture to show - I ruined my shirt & destroyed my pants; nice scratch marks on my face too; that being said, my night ended with a late night shower!

DAY 2:
• went to the most beautiful beach, the "hairy nipple", there was a small island just off the beach that resembled the beach's name quite closely...
• surfed & tanned & surfed & tanned
• afterwards, we went for a walk to the lighthouse at Seal Rocks (the 2nd most easterly point, next to Byron) - would have taken pictures, but my camera decided to break on me & I have no pictures of the entire week 😞
• back to the resort, shower & the party began
• lots of games: flip cup & some rather "riskay" games I will not mention...
• danced the night away

DAY 3:
• was a really choppy day - I got severly beaten up by numerous waves - didn't do to well today
• went to a small town for some lawn bowling (oh yes!...) & some beers
• back to the resort, shower & the party began
• more games, some live music, more dancing & partying...

DAY 4:
• FINALLY got to get on the beautiful coach bus we had been promised
• drove for a bit until we came to an awesome beach, my best day of surfing by far!!
• back on the bus, drove to this tiny little town that had lots of "bogans"
• had pizza & beer for dinner. many participated in the ridiculously entertaining bingo session or played pool
• headed to our new lodge for a very chill night... we played guitar & sang the whole night long beneath the most clear, beautiful sky I've ever seen

DAY 5:
• new beach - we had a surf competition that was based on who could do the craziest stuff on their board... heaps of fun
• had a BBQ to celebrate our last surf session
• headed to Byron Bay, got dropped off at our hostels & met back up at Cheeky Monkeys - that is a whole nother entry in itself!!! 😉 Dayna & Sarah... I had my first pie experience too! mmm... curried beef & veggi

Alright, so that's what I've been up to, now I need to go enjoy myself at the beach!!!

I miss you all.
xoxo


Advertisement



2nd December 2008

camera #1 gone...haha sarah will have sympathy for you when she reads this.
3rd December 2008

your mother
still waiting to hear what riskee games are

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb