Catch up things!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
November 20th 2008
Published: November 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oops, where has the time gone since my last post, and more the point, what on earth have I done? Well, unfortunately, the answer is not a great deal. I've spent most of the winter studying so that I can become admitted as a lawyer over here, which has meant not much going out and seeing people, and as a result I think they've forgotten about me 😞 - bah humbug. But anyway, thats all over now and I'm scheduled to be admitted in 5 December.

So, since the exam on September 5, this is a quick run down of what I've been up to:
we had our firm annual party that evening. So literally after I finished the exam I piled into a taxi and headed to the airport. Unfortunately, it was Friday rush-hour and I missed my flight so that by the time I got to Melbourne I'd missed dinner, so it was straight onto the wine and dancing. At about 2am I crashed (exam stress and no food) and I headed to the hotel - not least because the flight back to Sydney was at lunchtime the next day. Urg.

The following weekend I was up in Cairns visiting a friend. Went up on the Thursday night and back on the Sunday evening. It was a lovely toasty weekend, although didn't get up to a great deal. No diving this time. Friday was a chilled day in Cairns and up to Yorkies Knob and Trinity Beach. Lunch was up at Trinity Beach in the local 'hotel' as they call pubs up here...nice, but the weather wasn't all that great. Back to Cairns for the evening and dinner followed by a night on a pub crawl around Cairns. Good fun.

Saturday - breakfast, and hopped on the ferry out to Green Island. Its 45 mins and a little bouncy when the weather isn't so good. But Green Island is one of the few places you can snorkel in Cairns as it has a beach and is reasonably shallow. It has its own resort at which you can stay, but day trippers can use the facilities - bar, pool etc. Sat night was a couple of local beers with friends and dinner on the Esplanade. It was Cairns Amateurs that weekend and there were lots of dressed up drunk people around - very amusing!

Sunday was a late breakfast after a trip up to Kurranda - which is a hippie little town about 40 mins drive from Cairns. It has some hippy markets and some nice restaurants for breakfast, but not much else. Its not so far from the rainforest, and on the way back we went via the waterfalls and stopped at Lake Placid - a freshwater lake which although cold, is really beautiful and great for swimming as there's no crocs!

The following weekend was my last weekend in Sydney before my holiday back to Europe and it was stunning weather.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb