Back to the Beginning


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
November 16th 2008
Published: November 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Celebratory Obama-wins drinksCelebratory Obama-wins drinksCelebratory Obama-wins drinks

Lea, me, and Steve my first night back in Sydney
I arrive in Sydney for the second time on Wednesday morning. It was sad to leave the Hobday family, but I intend to keep in touch, so you’ll never know when I’ll see them again. I’m meeting Lea in Sydney and we’re going to go the Blue Mountains a few days later. I have this image in my mind of what these few days will look like - I’ll relax because I’ve seen most of the sights and we’ll leave Saturday morning for the Blue Mountains. I figure I’ll be sitting around quietly by myself while Lea tourists. That’s not what happens at all.

Nathan is here, my friend from Noosa. Through him I meet two Scottish guys, Steve and Lee, and through them I meet a Canadian girl, Nicole. I also meet Emma and Alan, two friends traveling together from England. Through Nicole I meet another whole crew of people - James, Livvy, Egg, Angus, and a bunch more people. I pull Lea into the fold too and we all spend a lot of time going to the bars and hanging around the hostel. I hit it off with Steve and we spend some time together. But by the
Out at the Botanical GardensOut at the Botanical GardensOut at the Botanical Gardens

Nathan, me, and Steve
end I manage to stuff it up and it doesn’t end smoothly. That’s what I get for meeting boys on vacation.

The only substantial things I did while I was in Sydney was watch the American election coverage (which is where I met Emma), take a walk to King’s Cross with Nicole, Lea, and James, go with everyone to the Newtown Festival (a free music festival), and spend one evening with Nicole out by the Opera House with a bottle of wine just looking at the lights. I kept adding one more day to my trip because I’m liking the people so much, but by the time Monday roles around I’m definitely ready to get out. Things with the Scottish boy I like are a little hot and cold, and I somehow managed to make an enemy in my dorm room (not my fault), so I need a little time away from the drama.

We come back to Sydney after the Blue Mountains (see other blog) and many of the same people are still around and it turns into the same kind of thing - going to the bars, hanging around the hostel. Thursday we go out for
Lazy afternoonsLazy afternoonsLazy afternoons

Nicole and Lee
Angus’ last night and meet up with Lee. Friday I finally pick up my visa for Thailand and meet Lea and Nicole at the Gallery of New South Wales for the Monet exhibit. Saturday I’m starting to feel a little stuck. I need a few hours to myself, so I spend the day walking around on my own. I visit the State Library of New South Wales and see the Wisdom exhibit, which is so fantastic I actually spend the $75 to buy the program book. I have no idea how I’m going to carry it around or how I’m going to get it home, but I had to have it. I sit in the Botanical Gardens and write a little (something I haven’t done in a while) and come back. People plan on going out, but I’m still just not in the mood.

The weather has turned nasty. If it clears up tomorrow Nicole and I are going to do the Bondi Beach walk. Lea leaves tomorrow for Melbourne, but we’re going to meet up when we get there. Nicole and I have really bonded and we’re going to do most of the rest of the trip together. Monday we leave for Canberra and we should be in Melbourne by Wednesday evening. Nicole’s got a room we can rent together for really cheap and we’re going to look for work. I’m thinking now that I might come back to Sydney for New Year’s because all my new friends will be here. Every time I go someplace new and meet new people the plan changes a little bit more. One day soon I’m going to have to make some real plans. Getting out of Sydney will be a good idea. I’m loving it here and I love the people I’ve met, but I need more space and new scenery will do me good.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Bubbles!Bubbles!
Bubbles!

performers at the Newtown Festival
full out blissfull out bliss
full out bliss

Lea took this photo, but its too precious not to include.
Newtown FestivalNewtown Festival
Newtown Festival

Egg, Angus, James, Lea, Nicole - my people
PoolsidePoolside
Poolside

Angus and Egg in the pool at the hostel. my feet in the way.
City by NightCity by Night
City by Night

me at the Harbour Bridge
Angus leaves us for goodAngus leaves us for good
Angus leaves us for good

Lea, Angus, and me
Two of a kindTwo of a kind
Two of a kind

Lee and me


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb