Life in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
December 19th 2005
Published: December 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The Opera HouseThe Opera HouseThe Opera House

One of the biggest tourist traps in Sydney
So, yeah, came back from the outbacks and got into the working force ... I've now been working for two months at this perfect little office at Martin Place in Sydney City, just over a ten minute walk from the house that I share with four other people.

Sydney is just a great city and the people here are the least stressed city people I've ever met, apart from my boss that is ... I'm designing residential houses all over Sydney at the moment, but things are gonna calm down a bit come Christmas. So what have I done with myself, apart from working? Well, everything else really. I'm perfectly settled in a terraced house in Woolloomooloo with Aussie Andrew, English couple Chris and Esther and my Swedish-speaking German/Italian friend Isabella. There are parties more or less every weekend (and a few of the weekdays as well, I can tell you ... my ....). We often go to our local favourite pub, The Old Fitzroy - such a good pub it's unreal! King's Cross is just a few minutes walk from our house, and if nightclubbing is your thing, the Cross got some awesome clubs, like Candy's Apartment. Superb! Me
The CrewThe CrewThe Crew

Me, Esther, Chris, Matt and Jen at the Home Bake Festival
and Esther also tried the Salsa club by Martin Place, which turned out to be a very good night with a personal expert trainer showing me all the moves in salsa. It was great.
Two weeks ago I followed my housemates and some friends to the Home Bake Festival here in Sydney. It's a festival reserved for Australian artists only, so I'd never heard of most of them, but it was a fantastic night that brought a passion for one Aussie band in particular - Decoder Ring!
One of my best nights yet, was just last night. Our house had decided to have our Christmas barbie, since the actual Xmas weekend wasn't working. So we had a fantastic barbie with some friends, presents and gorgeous food, ranging from the Swedish traditional Herring and Jansson's Temptation and vodka, to chili/garlic prawns and Aussie steak. Yum!

Apart from partying all the time (which is nothing new for me 😉 ), wee me have started playing OzTag, which is similar to rugby! I play in a team of 18, and we have a game every Wednesday. We're not very good, but we have a laugh and it's exercise! Can't think of a
BondiBondiBondi

Bondi Beach on a perfect day
better combination really. I'm making some good friends there (I'm the only foreigner in the team) and I now have somewhere to go for New Year!
I go to the beach almost every weekend, I love the sound of the waves hitting the beach, strolling along the sandy beaches or the cliffs, watching the lifeguards ...
In short, my life here in Sydney couldn't be better!

Have a great Xmas everyone!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Walk Against WarmingWalk Against Warming
Walk Against Warming

The people of Australia signing their own Kyoto Protocol, since their government won't.
City ArtyCity Arty
City Arty

A piece of Art at the Old Government Place
Sculpture by the SeaSculpture by the Sea
Sculpture by the Sea

One of the best sculptures along Bondi at 2005's Sculpture by the Sea exhibition


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb