Relaxing Sunday!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
October 14th 2001
Published: September 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a tiring Saturday, I eventually woke up at 10:30am. Everyone was up early except for us ‘youngsters’. There’s something about a Sunday morning that doesn’t make it very appealing to get up. Anyway, I am on holiday still as well!

It was going to be one of those ‘lazy’ days today, which I didn’t mind. It was a day I’d been looking forward to. My beloved West Ham were to play Blackburn in the Premiership.

Dinner was another large family affair with everyone and also another family friend, Gwen. Gwen had something in common with me; she had visited the Outback. It was strange, a good percentage of Australians had never ever ventured into ‘The Red Centre’, as it is also known. They had also never climbed the Harbour Bridge, which I was thinking of doing as well. They would all like to do it, but never had the chance. It now dawned on me, that I would be going to a part of the country that none of my family had ever been to either. It was a Greenaway first! Anyway, Gwen had brought along all the photos that she had taken during her trip to Alice Springs and Ayers Rock, which included a trip on the Ghan Railway, linking Alice Springs to the south coast, near Adelaide.

Eileen, Vic, Lorna and Gwen left early evening, and before the football came on, which was about 11pm our time, so we watched a film, ‘The Green Mile’, on Fox TV. I had seen it many times before, but it’s one of them films that I could easily watch again. I recommended it to them earlier that day, and they agreed to watch it this evening. I think they all liked it, except for a few violent parts and a little swearing which I knew they might be a bit funny about. Then it was the highlight of the day for me. I had gone over a week with watching no live football, so I was obviously looking forward to my team giving a great account of themselves. Bryan and Damon wanted to watch the game from the start, and Paula and Danni wanted to see what all the fuss was about. The film went on longer than expected, and when we turned over to the Fox Sport Channel, I couldn’t believe my eyes. In the top left of the screen was the depressing sight of the score line: ‘Blackburn 3, West Ham 0’. I just slumped back in the seat. I had been looking forward to seeing the game so much but it was just embarrassing to see that score line, and this was only after about twenty minutes. Things got much worse as the game went on, and all I wanted to see was West Ham to score just once, just to prove we could. We did, but Blackburn replied with another four goals, including a humiliating own goal, topped off with one of our players getting sent off too. A final score of 7-1 was just the ultimate low of my holiday. It was a terrible game to watch, and everyone stayed up to watch it especially. I just felt so stupid, after I'd built up the game, expecting it to be just slightly more even. Thankfully, I was on holiday, so I had forgotten about it all the day after.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb