Day 3 in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 12th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I had to work in the morning so didn't have as much time for sightseeing, but I did manage to take the ferry out to Manly Beach. It was a bit warmer so am glad I went in the afternoon. It's still fairly chilly here, but pleasant in the sun when there is no breeze. I love just walking around Circular Quay and the city. However, I figured out how to take the subway and it was quite easy and efficient. They have double decker trains which are interesting and they get just as jam packed as the DC metro during rush hour.

I arrived early for the ferry so got to hear several tunes from this didgeridoo performer who does aboriginal futuristic music performance. Cool stuff! The trip over to Manly was a pretty smooth, 30 minute ride and afforded great views of the bridge and opera house. The beach was gorgeous and the water a beautiful turquoise. However, it was too cold for swimming so that part was kind of a drag. I had a delicious seafood lunch and a nice glass of Viognier Pinot Gris at the Blue Water Cafe. Really friendly service and great food.

I have some more work tomorrow and then plan to go to Museum of Contemporary Art, the Rocks or Australian Museum...???



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb