Arriving in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 10th 2008
Published: August 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I survived the 14 hour flight from LAX to Sydney - and it actually was not that bad. Thanks to the great company of Lorna and Nathan - great couple from LA and Mount Pleasant, DC, respectively, that now live in Pasadena. I was able to sleep for a good part without the aid of sleeping meds and watched a couple of movies - Iron Man and Charlie Elliott (had a little Robert Downey, Jr. theme going on).

Since I arrived in the morning and my lstudio would not be ready until 2:00 pm, I strolled down to the Opera House. On my way, I had an amazing breakfast and cappucino at the Maltese Cafe - Yum! Below are some photos of what I saw on the way to the Opera House. I recommend the Hotel Stellar if you are looking for a modern, clean, studio in a great location to get to the sights. It also seems quite safe.

The opera house, Harbour Bridge, walkways, etc. were as stunning as one would expect and I saw some fantastic Aboriginal art in one of the galleries. On the way back from my walk down to the Harbour, I ducked into some shops to avoid the rain on Castlereagh St. (well not too many since they were mainly Gucci, Chanel, Escada, Louis Vuitton, etc.). But, there were also some more accessible stores such as the David Jones department store which featured some interesting Australian designers.

After settling into my room, I was too tired to venture back out so had Pringles for dinner 😊 - tomorrow is, however, another day of good food, sightseeing and picture taking. I plan to spend the day in Darling Harbour and the surrounding area.






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb