Waso Buddhist Festival


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
July 19th 2008
Published: July 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

While many visitors to Sydney attended events relating to the Catholic World Youth Day or Week, my parents and I attended the Waso Buddhist Festival at the Burmese Buddhist temple at Smithfield. Also, there was a ceremony for giving new robes to the monks, which you could buy and donate for $30. It was also the first official function at the new site of the temple so it was very nice to be invited to attend by our Burmese friends. You could not find a more friendly community.

It was also good to meet the chief monk at the Temple - Sayardaw U Pannathami. He spent sometime talking to my parents and I. He also encouraged my mother and myself to attend a meditation retreat soon. We had an enjoyable day and the work that has been done at the new site of the temple in only a few weeks is a great credit to their community. We hope to return soon to help them paint the interior of the temple.

If you are interested you can get more information on their website ... Panditarama Meditation Centre Sydney . They also have a website to raise funds to aid victims of cyclone Nargis ... Cyclone Nargis Fund .


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

My parents & I meeting Sayadaw U PannathamiMy parents & I meeting Sayadaw U Pannathami
My parents & I meeting Sayadaw U Pannathami

Sayadaw = teacher. He invited us to attend some meditation retreats.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb