I've arrived!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 16th 2005
Published: November 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Absolutely shattered after two days travelling, but im here and safe in Sydney! Left all the parents at the airport crying as I went through passport control, god, embarrasing! Of course I was abit upset, as was my mum and step mum, but when my dad went, well really, I was hoping for better!!! Passport control people kept asking me if I was alright - ahhhh!
Flights weren't too bad, was half empty so i had a whole 5 row of seats to myself! We were delayed by about an hour getting into Sydney.

My brother Rob met me at the airport and took me to my hostel which was good of him as I obviuosly didn't have a clue were I was going! The hostel i'm staying in isn't too bad, i'm in a room by myself which is good from a noise point of view but not for meeting people.

Decided to go into the city and explore. I'm staying in Glebe which is abit out of the centre but a really nice walk into it. Headed straight for the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House. Cant believe how huge they are and how beautiful. I've seen pictures and stuff of the Opera House but nothing prepares you for the size and oddity of the building! I took the decision to climb the harbour bridge! Anyone that knows me will know that i've obviuosly gone crazy because i'm scared of heights! But i'm only going to get one chance to do it, so I did. The view was magnificent. It took about 3 and half hours in total. We all had to be put into grey jumpsuits and harnessed together. The only thing I was annoyed about is the fact that you can't take your cameras up with you. If you drop it you could kill someone, which is fair enough, but still!

It decided to rain this afternoon, and its still going! Not really missing people too much - sorry guys! I guess the only bad thing about travelling by yourself is that you can't share any of this with anyone, but I get to see it and I can tell everyone - i'll try not to gloat!

After my long journey, i'm ready to collapse, but I'm looking forward to tomorrow!

Advertisement



18th November 2005

travel to Australia
I would love to travel and go to Autralia. I want see for myself the Opera House and take pictures of other places there. It would be nice to have a vacation and spend my time away from the hustles and bustles of work.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb