Anticipation


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
April 18th 2008
Published: April 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

DirectionsDirectionsDirections

Go that way for about 100m, then turn left at the traffic lights, and the campsite is about 500m down that road.
It's interesting how things happen. It takes an overseas trip for me to start blogging - but any excuse is better than none i guess. I always had the feeling that although it would be nice to write interesting articles about my personal life for the whole internet to see, but i just couldn't be bothered... After swearing against it, I took the plunge and joined facebook with peer-pressure solely to blame. So, since this is my first blogging experience, forgive my relative n00b'ness.
More importantly, i'm about to go on an adventure... Get away, see some of the world, and all that good stuff. What makes me think I'll be committed to blogging about my adventures when in foreign countries when I'm too lazy to even maintain a facebook account when at home with considerably more free time on my hands? I dunno.

But, i'm going on an adventure!
May 12th 2008 is the departure date, arriving in Amsterdam (aka Disneyland) on May 13. I've set a rough plan that allows for deviation, but from there, I'll be visiting a decent chunk of central Europe including Berlin, Prague, Budapest, Vienna and Munich by rail. Then, it's off to Italy from top to bottom including Venice, Milan, Florence, Rome, Amalfi, Calabria, Messina, Milazzo and Lipari also by rail/ferry. Beirut is my final destination before returning to the grinder that is Sydney. This is all going to be in the space of 9 weeks.

Ohh, and my whinging brother (Nathan) is coming too. I've been told not to leave him in places, or with strangers, to always travel together, and look after him, and make sure nobody takes his kidneys. You know, the usual older-brother lecture the oldies give you before you go on a bike ride, or to the pub, or in this case - a holiday. How upset do you think they'll be if i accidentally-on-purpose leave him in Amsterdam? Surely one son is enough, and he'd have a ball!

So, come back and visit shortly after May 12, for some (hopefully interesting) stories about my adventures.

Advertisement



1st May 2008

Don't forget the toothbrush
:-)
9th May 2008

Have Fun
Dear Daniel and Nathan, It's now time to 'sew your royal oaks'. Have fun tramping around Europe and the Middle East, take lots of photos. I'm looking forward to hearing all the stories when you get back. Zio Vito.
13th May 2008

happy holiday
have a happy adventure, looking forward to your travel blog. xoxo.
14th May 2008

Happy Days
Have a great time, looking forward to following your journey on the travelblog, I hope those backpacks are not too heavy!! Christine
19th May 2008

ANDY
ITS ANDY HERE--NOT TO MUCH SMOKIN IN THE CAFES
20th May 2008

Well you can say you have been there
Hi Boys, Glad to see the beer kicking in. Hope your enjoying the trip and keeping out of trouble and off the streets of Amsterdam.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb