Happy Easter!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
March 24th 2008
Published: March 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Trip Down Under


Yum, chocolate eggs and sunshine. Such a heady combination.

Anyway, a resurrected travel blog - I'm not going to rewrite details of past trips, but places I've been thus far are:
Melbourne
Brisbane
Surfers Paradise
Byron Bay
Ayers Rock
Perth-Adelaide (the Nullabor)
Snowy Mountains (but not in the snow!)
various places around Sydney

piccies are available of all the above, please just ask and I'll send the weblink onto you.

So - easter weekend was a pretty quiet one for me. Slightly irritated at myself for not having done more, but 4 days off work was good. About all I managed to do was a couple of dives off Shelly Beach on Sunday. The first was a bit choppy and to be frank, there wasn't much down there. The second was awesome though - dusky whaler sharks, fiddler rays, cuttlefish, wobbegongs and HUGE blue gropers - such tame and inquisitive fish. The dive highlighted the need for a buddy who has a likeminded approach to diving ie. that its not a competition, and not about who can finish first, but somoene who will watch your back and enjoy the dive for the immersion into a different world. I am soooo looking forward to the trip to Ningaloo in June.

Today, Monday, I drove down to Maroubra - I'd only ever heard bad things about this area - Bra Boys and a gf of mine having her car stolen. But in the short time I was down there, it really impressed me. They, like a lot of east coast beaches, have a ocean pool, but this one is simply beautiful. Set in the rocks, a little above the pounding waves, it is very tranquil - if only I'd taken my swimmers! The area is a lot less developed than I'd imagined too, but nonetheless, it was striking in its ruggedness and simplcity.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb