Last Week in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 27th 2008
Published: February 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My last week in Sydney I took advantage of the weather while it was good. Tuesday and Wednesday I spent at Manley Beach. For anyone going to Sydney taking the Manly Ferry is a must. You get to see the Harbour in its entirety. It is absolutely beautiful. while on the ferry I tried to imagine what would Captain Cook and his crew most have thought when they first entered it. I tried to picture it as it must have been back then, just water and vegetation. It must have been a great sight. It still is I must say.

Manly beach is awesome. The whole area is very picturesque with its cafes, restaurants, shops, pubs, and great for people watching. The beach is great for swimming, though one always has to swim between the flags. Even here, the rip tides are pretty strong, but as long as you follow instructions, you will be fine. A funny thing happened on Wednesday while I was in the water. I was having a great time when all of the sudden, a siren came over the loud speakers. Then everyone began swimming to shore. So, I did as in Rome and swam as
Last Week in AustraliaLast Week in AustraliaLast Week in Australia

Sand sculpture at Manley Beach. The artist is an Italian guy who travels the word doing his sculptures in sand.
fast as I could without really knowing what was happening. When I got to the shore, I found out that it was a shark alarm!!! One of the lifeguards came on the loud speakers telling people still in the water to get out as they had a 'confirmed' shark sighting.

Whoa, I had never seen a beach cleared so fast. I tried to see if I could spot anything but the only thing I saw was a couple of lifeguards on seadoos patrolling the water full speed to try to scare the shark away. So we stayed out of the water for about an hour. Then everyone cautiously went back in the water including myself but the swimming was never the same. I was a little more alert of everything in the water for the rest f the afternoon.

For the rest of the week, I ended up going to Chinatown a couple of times and basically just trying to stay out of the rain. It was nice to see the rain but I would have preferred sunshine.

And before I knew it, Sunday had arrived and it was time for me to leave. This was it,
Manley FerryManley FerryManley Ferry

This is a submarine that I saw from the ferry on my way to Manley Beach. The sub was heading for the open ocean.
the end of my trip. And taking one last look at the city with pack on my back, I bid a bitter sweet good bye to this lovely country, cities and its people!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Hyde ParkHyde Park
Hyde Park

This is my favourite spot in Sydney!!! Spent many afternoons here reading the paper and just relaxing.
Hyde ParkHyde Park
Hyde Park

Luis very tired resting at Hyde Park after a day on the beach.
SydneySydney
Sydney

Sydney Fish Market
SydneySydney
Sydney

My lunch at the fish market!!
Fish MarketFish Market
Fish Market

The market offers many seafood options...
Fish MarketFish Market
Fish Market

The fleet that brings all the fish into Sydney's fish market is owned by 7 Italians (Calabrese) guys. They are all part of the same faily.
Darling harbourDarling harbour
Darling harbour

This is a beautiful harbour as well.
Queen Victoria BuildingQueen Victoria Building
Queen Victoria Building

This shopping mall is really posh...
Manley FerryManley Ferry
Manley Ferry

My feet are so dark!!!!
Manley FerryManley Ferry
Manley Ferry

Inside the ferry is very comfortable.
Manley BeachManley Beach
Manley Beach

Another shot of the sand sculpture.
Sydney HarbourSydney Harbour
Sydney Harbour

This is a view of the Opera House and all the restaurants and bars that are around it. On Saturday nights, these places are hopping!!!!
Manley Beach.Manley Beach.
Manley Beach.

Enjoying my last days on the beach...
Manley BeachManley Beach
Manley Beach

People enjoying the good weather.
Manley BeachManley Beach
Manley Beach

Waves were of a pretty good size this day.


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb