Bye Bye Sydney & Bye Bye Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
March 1st 2007
Published: March 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I made it back to Sydney again, it was really nice to be back somewhere familiar and not have to find my way around as I already knew. It's a fab city I really do like it, everyone says you either like Melbourne or Sydney but I've got to say I'm pretty partial to both of them so don't make me choose!

On my first night back in Sydney after my 4 day Oz Experience adventure I had an early night as I was absolutely shattered.

On Monday I went for a wander around & it all came flooding back to me from last time, where I was & how to get everywhere it was a refreshing change from always having to find your way around a new place. I did a little bit of shopping (I know not like me at all!) & wandered down to Circular Quay & the Botanic gardens to see the Harbour Bridge & the Opera House again, they still have the wow factor second time round. Unfortunately the crappy weather had followed me from the Snowy Mountains to Sydney & it rained on and off all day so I didn't wander around too late which is just as well as not long after I got back to the hostel at about 6pm it started absolutely pouring down & that was it for the night it didn't stop so I didn't go back out!

On Tuesday I walked across the Sydney harbour Bridge (not the expensive climb up the bridge just along the pedestrian footpath ) where you get amazing views of the opera House, Circular Quay & downtown Sydney & the sun was shining for a change (strange to saying that in Australia but it's true for once, I'll need to get used to it now I'm heading for New Zealand don't think they've had a nice summer at all, uhoh!). Across the other side of the bridge is North Shore where the famous amusement park, Luna Park is but unfortunately I'd picked one of the days when the rides weren't in operation so I wandered back over the bridge again. I stopped off at Circular Quay for a bit & listened to some Aboriginal buskers, they had the full body paint on & looked fantastic. After that the weather took another turn for the worse so I gave up & headed back to the hostel again but luckily there are two lovely girls staying in my room so we just chatted for the rest of the night.

On Wednesday the weather was surprise surprise crappy once again, there was actually a thunder storm in the middle of the afternoon so I went & hid in the Sydney Aquarium for a couple of hours & I'm glad I did as it was actually really good. They had lots of tropical fish just like the ones I saw when I was snorkelling on the reef & they had some pretty big sharks swimming over your head when you walked through one of the many glass tunnels. They even had some fairy penguins so I finally got a photo! I also saw my first platypus's & probably my last for a while since I'm leaving Oz tomorrow.

Thursday, my last day here sniff sniff! I did a little more shopping & re-visited the infamous Paddy's market (lots & lots & lots of stalls). Then I went to take one last look at the Opera House & the Harbour Bridge until I get to come back to Australia & then tonight I think I'm going out for a couple of farewell to Sydney drinks with some guys from the Oz Experience trip. Bye Bye Sydney & Oz I'm gonna miss you!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

The worst Elvis Impersonator I've ever seenThe worst Elvis Impersonator I've ever seen
The worst Elvis Impersonator I've ever seen

he didn't sound or look anything like him except for the crazy outfit!
little platypuslittle platypus
little platypus

these guys were crazy swimming around like little nutters all over the place
Fairy penguinsFairy penguins
Fairy penguins

not nearly as good as it was seeing them in the wild but I did get a photo this time
Shark!Shark!
Shark!

luckily there was no Jaws 3 or Jaws 4 or whatever it was moment where the shark came bursting through the glass at the aquarium
Speak no evil, see no evil, hear no evil!Speak no evil, see no evil, hear no evil!
Speak no evil, see no evil, hear no evil!

this is outside the pub the Wise Monkeys, genius!


16th March 2007

Gidday
Hope you enjoy NZ as much

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb