Melbourne Cup Day


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
November 9th 2006
Published: November 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mad man on horseMad man on horseMad man on horse

and my colleagues Allie (left) and Cyndi. And for all of my male friends looking at this Allie is WAY too young for all of you!
Just a quick update and a few pics from Melbourne Cup Day which was on Tues this week (7th Nov). For those of you who haven't heard of it, its like the Grand National but on a much much bigger scale. For starters in Melbourne its a bank holiday. For the rest of the nation it just seems like an excuse for a huge p*ss up...gotta love those aussies!

Being the jammy so and so that I am, I managed to blag an invite to a $300 per head charity event at the Four Seasons for the entire afternoon. Gourmet meal and a free bar...the money raised may have reduced slightly because of that one...

So the upshot was I spent the afternoon drinking, dining and dancing. The rest of my colleagues went back to work at 4.30pm (?!?!) but I decided to do my bit for pom/aussie relationships and stuck it out to the bitter end (and much much later)...I think I ended up talking football with the CEO of some bank (I'm sure it was an insightful conversation..although he was from Manchester so what does he know about decent football?!?!) and sipping champagne at the Hilton with a bunch of people from Xerox. All in all a great night!

As for the horses, they ran, I lost by a mile.

Helen was slightly less jammy and ended up watching the race at her work... her horse also came second by a nose... :-(

Oh as an aside thanks to my Mum & Dad for writing 'big cockies' as the header on one of their comments. Shame on you both.
Sam x


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Funny man dressed as womanFunny man dressed as woman
Funny man dressed as woman

..he/she was one of the hosts for the evening.
Irish comedianIrish comedian
Irish comedian

..who told massively inappropriate jokes for a charity event. Hilarious!
Ooops...Ooops...
Ooops...

...I may of collected a few mini bottles of vodka by the end of the night!


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb