Vocabulary Lesson Part 1


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Sydney Harbour
March 4th 2010
Published: March 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

3/5/10

So as I finish my second week of work I think I’ll begin this entry with a little vocabulary lesson, part 1. It seems that some are finding it hard to understand the new words and phrases I’ve learned while hanging out with a bunch of English and Aussie people…
Knackered: Really tired
Pissed: Drunk
Desperate for a Wee: I really need to pee
Gorgeous: Delicious
Nice: tasty
Spot: pimple
Dinner: lunch
Tea: Dinner
Maccas: McDonalds
Hungry Jack’s: Burger King
Grip: Bobby Pin
How You Going?: How are you ?
Buck’s Night: Bachelor Party
Hen’s Night: Bachelorette Party
Kitchen Tea: Bridal Shower
Auntie: Aunt (everyone calls their Aunts, Auntie. Take note children I expect to be greeted as Auntie when I return!)
Banger: sausage
Biscuit: cookie
Bloody: very
Chips: fries
Crips: Chips
Lift: elevator
Brummie: someone from Burmingham, England
Bum-Bag: Fanny Pack
Fanny: …a woman’s private parts or va jay jay
Rough: well it’s used to describe bad areas or when someone looks a mess like after a night out of drinking the next morning a person may look ‘rough’

Next entry I’ll continue your lesson! So I forgot to mention that while at Dion’s apartment I met his American roommate who was from New York and not one to be proud of…He didn’t know I was American when we first walked in so proceeded to do his best “I’m a really cool New Yorker act” for all the English. Literally the first words out of his mouth were “How you doin?” Seriously?....he kept going throwing around words like “30Gs” instead of 30 thousand dollars and “B izzle” instead of baby when he was trying to say he ‘slept like a BABY’. The English girls had no idea what he was saying but nodded their heads smiling. Later on in the evening I somewhat confronted him about this fake NY “swag” and in a nice way said it wasn’t necessary. He first responded by saying “You don’t know me, you’re in MY house and I’m tired!” Then 5 seconds later the act was gone as well as the gangster accent and he became human…at least to me lol.

So moving on, Tiffany is crazy here but I love the girl I work with, she’s my age and we are very similar so we have a lot of fun talking and laughing at the ridiculous people we talk to! All the roommates I had in the beginning of the week are gone now but I’ll tell you a bit about them.

Katie is 27 and almost a year ago broke up with her boyfriend of 2 years, quit her job of 5 years and moved to Australia to get her masters degree in finance and in general travel. She’s from Boston but worked at Prudential in NYC so we had some things in common to talk about. She moved out of the hostel to an apartment near Bondi Beach so tomorrow we’re going to meet up for a day of sun!

Allison is 32, from England and one of those people who seems always happy, laughs at everything and whose laugh is completely infectious! She used to work for Cadbury so she has been to Parsippany where the office is! She just left to go to Tasmania where it’s significantly colder than Sydney!

And lastly Susan, the most unique. She’s German, don’t know how old I’d say mid 30s and pretty hilarious. She speaks English really well but me and Allison had to teach her some words one night over tea and biscuits that ended in a lot of laughs. Susan has a cold allergy…which means she’s allergic to the cold…as in the temperature…SO if she even touches so much as a frozen pizza her arm will completely swell up and she’ll go into shock. Switching from one extreme temperature to another is very bad too so if she were to go in a hot tub that would be fine, but when she came out time to stab yourself with the epipen! It was funny because as she was telling this Allison was laughing, because it is pretty crazy, but as soon as she said she couldn’t eat ice cream because her throat would close up Allison stopped laughing and suddenly it became a very serious matter! Susan left for New Zealand so I told her to make sure she’s bundled up, it’s chilly down there!

Not too much has happened besides meeting my interesting roommates, my schedule is usually, tan in the morning before work, work, read outside during my lunch break, back to the hostel, perhaps some TV and bed. I did meet a Canadian and another New Yorker who was actually decent while watching American Idol in the TV room the other night…I know what you’re thinking and no it wasn’t me who put the show on! Just as I was starting to twitch from watching the show was when I heard the guy was from NY so I chimed in with I’m from Jersey girl and we had a conversation going instead of watching the show that makes me want to pull my hair out. The other girl was talking about how there’s Canadian idol….who knew and who needs another freakin idol!

Well I’m off to the sun before work, I may go see Alice in Wonderland tonight at the BIGGEST IMAX IN THE WORLD but it’s $25 and although I got paid this week it was only for last week so after buying food and paying for another week at this more expensive but lovely hostel I will still be counting pennies till I get paid again in 2 weeks…OH and there’s a bar with a Piano in it at Bondi according to my friend who works in a hostel there so hopefully I’ll be doing some music this weekend as well. No crazy traveling for a while or my hostel will be a box on the side of the road. Ta Ta!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb