Gday Mate!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Sydney Harbour
June 11th 2008
Published: June 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey all you parrrrrrrrrty people! Its been exactly 20 days since I last wrote so I gathered you'd all be feeling a bit neglected and that Id need to fill you in in what Ive been up to!

I first went to Brisbane which was really weird as I hadnt been in a city environment since Singapore! A lot of people scorn it saying they're not travelling to go to cities etc but I actually really enjoyed it! It was warm the city is small so you can walk around it so easily! I went to Southbank Market which was brilliant and happened to stumble across an Australian idol audition which was crazy. So many people everywhere just singing their hearts out hopign the cameras would film them queing! Some were even dressed as scooby doo and a lobster and thibngs to try and stand out! At one point we were standing next to a guy who I thought was a producer but he actually turned out to be the Dermot O leary Of Australian Idol and we suddenly got mobbed by soooo many girls! was hilarious! Also went to the botanical Gardens and Brunswick, and to an AFL match (which has def been 1 of the highlights if my trip!) I met 2 Bromley guys earlier in my trip, Chris and Dan aka Howesy and DMAC! and then again in Noosa where they told me to get a ticket to this match and we'd all go together! It was for the Brisbane Lions versus St Kilda! Kick off wasnt untill 1pm but it was a beautiful day and we wanted to soak up the atmosphere so we got to the Gabba stadium for 10! it was awesome...everyone loves an English accent so we were getting so many freebies and discounts in the shop etc! The match itself is meant to be in 4 20 minute quarters but it ended up being 30 minute quarters and with 10 minute breaks between each so we were there quite a while! we then went to the lions den at the chalk hotel to relish in our victory! Felt like such an aussie and the game was brilliant! we even got to go on the pitch after ( can you imagine that happening in england??) and kick some balls about. It was fun but a bit scary and no sooner had I said "someone is so going to get a ball in the face!" a ball came down shattered my sunglasses and i swear it broke my nose (although im fine now!) haha.

Had a really good few days in Brisy then I went zorbing on my way to Surfers Paradise which was soooo cool but over to quickly. Surfers was okay but its full of high rise buildings, theme parks, slot machines, tacky shops la la la. Basically its all aussies fave holiday destination when theyre about 10 aka like Blackpool. You have to go there but you go once and never again! Stayed in a brill hostel though which was half hotel so we got free squah, tennis, jacuzzi, sauna all for 25dollars! brilliant!

Then on to Byron Bay which is soooo hippie! haha. I stayed at the arts factory where there are no tvs or anything and its all very eco friendly and vegan! yoga on the lawn everyday and reiki and no medicine all herbal rememdies! quite cool though and i learnt alot about corporations taking over society and things. Infact apart from 1 woolworths which is like tesco there are no chain stores or brands in byron every store is privately owned! so cool! chilled out a lot there especially ebcause it rained and not like england rain! haaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrd rain! it didnt stop! did a quiz which I of course loved! went to nimbin aswell on a jims tour! google it!

i was going to write all about surf camp, sydney and melbourne but ive just looked at the time and im meeting a guy from my dorm at 1 so i have to go. hes sooo sweet hes basically given me a spare key for the room i slept in last night as ive checked out now coz my plane to fiji leaves at 5 am so its not worth paying for a night when i can sleep at the airport and so ive left my stuff tehre and can nap and stuff! so sweet! ill write it when im back i promise! ive just put up sooo many pics so youll get the gist! ill write it when im back from fiji which btw i booked to get a tan from and it looks like ots going to rain every day! soooo not happy.....

love love love xxxxxx

Advertisement



13th June 2008

I stayed in Arts Factory2, had a cinema n all sorts n a cute cafe! Was gud laugh! Hope u checked out the club Cheeky Monkeys and went2 the lighthouse 2 watch the dolphins!! Have fun in Fiji, my cousin was born there n LOVES the place!! I was jst an absolute geek n looked on BBC Weather for u, Fiji will b in late 20s, there will b sun rain bt also v.sunny2! Av a great time! Loadsa love xxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb