Goodbye Sydney, Australia hello Kunming China


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Sydney Airport
May 31st 2008
Published: May 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok so I arrived safely in Kunming. After spending a delightful 16 hours on the plane it was good to finally get to a shower!
Got up at 5am today and was strangely excited to be out of bed at this time for some reason. Krunch was still asleep so i may have stepped on her when i got out of bed (can you clarify Krunch and also put some photos up?)
Anyways we left home at 6:10 (after a delicious breakfast of chicken and salat olivia - mums egg and potato salad - and damn am i gonna miss you cooking mum and Zoya!) and got to the airport at liike 6:40 (pretty awesome time coming from the Comptontown). Had a teary moment staring at the sunrise and the mist and how i will miss the land of OZ. Got to the airport before baggage collection came. Courtneil was there (from going to bed at 1am was a fair effot) and i was heaps stoked she came! We went for some coffee - i had tea and Vik and Romez came! I was really flattered with my massive entourage of - mum, dad, liz and uncle george! Court had to leave and i walked her out (Im gona miss you champ) - I told her to go cause i was getting emotional and felt like i was tearing up - i didnt want it to turn into a river. Then Nadz rocked up - said goodbye to Vik and Romez. Went to board at 9:20 and brother nemsis rocked up which was so good to say good bye to - i love you all so much! I had a big JD (scrubs) moment where i was melocanchy and reflecting on how great to see all my family there. I feel so loved and want to say thank you again to anyone who maybe reading this blog for the farewells the presents and the caring that im leaving - i feel so loved😊 Anyway went to the gate (31). Had the biggest moment where i was about to burst into tears - just seeing my mum and dad...
Went through to customs and got on the plane. Sent about 50million messages and calls until they said turn off your phones. Got a four seater to myself (thanks Nadz) and met this awesome chic Lee from Hurstville who spent half the flight going through Mandarin with me and telling me where to travel. Lost my phone (had about 10 ppl looking for it) then found it😊
We actually left at 10:40am and as a result when i got to Guangzhou (sorry if its spelt wrong) i was running late for my connecting flight - and missed it! They hooked me up with a flight at 9:20pm - so i waited at the airport for about 3 hours. Met this really great guy Li Hong Yu (who ill never forget). He taught me some mandarin - gave me his phone number if i was in trouble and took me to my hostle - the hump hostel, Kunming. I dont think i coudl have done it without him!!! He even invited me over for dinner if i would like to one night when im here and said i could invite any friends i meet! Li if you are reading this you are a life saver and i owe you!
Anyway finally landed around 11:30pm and got to the hostel about 12:30am (Bejiing time). Went and had a shower and now about to go to bed -1:40am. Ciao ill try to write as soon as I can. Should be going to the stone forest tomorrow!-

Advertisement



1st June 2008

rock on dasho, off to a great start. dont forget www.couchsurfing.com... free accomodation in any country with a someone who lives there
1st June 2008

very glad to hear good news from u
OTJlu4HblE HOBOCTu: printed 2 copies: 4 ur mom and grandparents + liz assignment; pls continue posting.. love u. bfn
1st June 2008

nadya drove elizabeth 2 home
and i'm afraid liz did not give nadya a box with goodies, that i brought home on thu night...
20th June 2008

Thanks champ! I got recommended to try it out in ekatringburg in russia as accomodation is way to expensive so might give it a go:)

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb