G'day from Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Surrey Hills
June 16th 2006
Published: June 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Australia Trip


A whirlwind 48 hours in Sydney started off with arrival into Sydney at 6:30am and an immigration/customs line like I've NEVER seen before! Took roughly an hour and 1/2 to get through this (and to declare my snacks, fortunately none of which needed to be taken)! Robyn met me and off went to her house just outside of Sydney for a quick freshening up shower and back into Sydney to start my day! Starting at her office right in the heart of the city, I strolled up Market St. (towards Sydney Tower and Hyde Park), and landed right in the Queen Victoria Building for a chai and a muffin. The chai so cleverly had a "sippy cup" lid which I thought was hilarious (probably b/c I was over tired from the 17 and 1/2 hr flight and it was probably a good thing that I couldn't accidentally spill on myself)! The muffin too, was like no other! Huge! Sitting at this cafe across the way from a 3 story Esprit store (haven't seen one of those so large since the outlet days in SF), I was tempted to start shopping, but I refrained and continued wandering around downtown.

Wandered down Pitt St. (more shopping and checked out Sydney Tower briefly and decided to go up it later in the day). Strolled over to Hyde Park and sat in the morning winter sunshine to warm up! What a pretty park! Next, onto the Sydney explorer bus to see the city without having to move much!

The bus wanders all over and I jumped off at Circular Quay, the home of the Sydney Ferries, and incredible views of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Wandered around Sydney Cove to the left of Circular Quay to get those amazing Opera house pictures and in a matter of 20 min. or so met all kinds of tourists (taking pictures) from all over the world! Wandered back around Sydney Cove to the Opera house, and too tired for the tour, just sat on a bench eating my Kashi Go Lean crunch and taking in the enormity of this building and afternoon sunshine!

Finally, after resting up, decided to hop on a ferry to Darling Harbour! A neat way to get some incredible views quickly from the water! Hopped off the ferry at Darling Harbour and wandered around a bit, and then walked over the Pyrmont bridge to Harbourside and hopped onto the Monorail back to City Center. Ready to take in Sydney from the tallest building, I went up the Tower! What a clear and perfect day, could see everything! Olympic Park, the airport and the impressive view from Sydney all the way to the Pacific Ocean!

Barely staying awake at this point, I made it to our local favorite, Starbucks for a snack and tea to warm up! And finally back to my friend's office to head to my hotel to call it a day and catch up on much needed sleep! What an incredibly beautiful city!



Advertisement



18th June 2006

Oooh! I get to add a comment??!!!!
Sweeeet! I can live vicariously through you, Kim, as I look over the WORK I brought home....wait....don't interrupt.....I'm imagining myself on the beach now.......ahhhhhhhh. Can't wait for your next adventure :-) Lemme know if you see or hear of any shark sightings. Especially near Adelaide in the south. Also, since you'll be wandering around a lot, I found you this map of all the public toilets in Australia! http://www.toiletmap.gov.au/
18th June 2006

Cooool!!!!
I'm glad you survived the long trip but it sounds like it was worth it! I will also be living vicariously through you . . . have another chai for me . . . I will be checking your blog as I lie on my side all day! :)
19th June 2006

I'm so jealous!!
Hey, Kim shady!!! So glad you're having a great time, Sydney looks amazing! Bring home a cute Aussie for me with blond hair, blue eyes and an amazing bod, k?? Be safe! Can't wait to hear more! love you! Lauren

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb