January 15th


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Parramatta
January 16th 2009
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Parramatta, Australia - January 15th - 1:30am
Today was quiet interesting.

I work up to 6 amazing emails in my inbox from people I asked to use as references. Funnily enough I think only one of those people read my blog, but regardless I’d like to thank everyone so much for the lovely emails. It means a lot to have so many people that want to help me out and see me succeed, even if they are jealous of my adventures. Thank-you Cara & Rob, Brian & Leslie, Kathy, Michele, John & Susan, and Mary-Ann.

So I finished my application and went through the checklist one more time…not surprising to me (since everything seems to go wrong for me sometimes) but I realized that I needed a Senior First Aid Certificate. I knew I had a copy somewhere between my parents place and Cara & Rob’s storage unit, but I had no idea. I also thought that it was 3 years old so regardless I’d have to be re-certified. So I figured out a place in Parramatta that offers the course this Saturday. I had to head into town to get the workbook that has to be completed before Saturday morning. So I got ready and jumped on the train to get my books.

It took about an hour to get to the office, I got my books and they informed me that if I cancelled within 24 hours then I’d be charged 50% so I took that to heart. So I walked around the mall for a bit, found an internet café that I could print off some documents that I needed for my application. I had an email from Lee and the genius that he is said “Did you ask your dad to check the house to see if you left a copy of your certificate there?”. It was 4pm and the office closed at 5pm. I wouldn’t be home till 4:50pm so I had no choice but to call dad on the train. I asked him for yet another favour (thanks again Daddy for that, love you). I hung up with him and got on the phone with the training office to cancel my spot. I figured that I could always call them tomorrow to enrol again into the training session but I wouldn’t be able to cancel tomorrow as it would be within the 24 hour period. Sure enough as daddy never lets me down he checked. He found a copy but to my luck it was from 2004. I knew I had a recent one but it’s somewhere in a box in Cara & Rob’s storage unit, which as anyone that’s seen it knows it might take a while to locate.

So after all that hustle and bustle I still have to take the course! Lol

I got back to the house at about 5pm, talked to Lee on facebook for an hour and hit the books. I was informed that it would only take me about 6 hours to complete, but Jean and I have plans to head out to Blue Mountain tomorrow so I wanted to get as much done as I could (hence the time).

As I was in my room studying I saw a shard of lightning out my window and within seconds it was pouring rain. I’ve never seen rain like that. That was the second storm that we had since I’ve been here and it was wild. It’s rather funny because it pours for maybe 10minutes and then it’s over, but it is a nasty storm with lightning and thunder. I wasn’t scared though Millie protected me.

So I’ve completed the entire book, some parts were easy because of my medical background. I have a few more scenarios to complete but I’ll keep that for tomorrow night.
I’m going to watch an episode of Bones and get a good night’s rest as we have a big day of sightseeing tomorrow.

Good Night!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb