Back to School....


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Opera House
February 22nd 2009
Published: February 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe I am about to start my 2nd semester here... where did summer go?? Ah, where did the 1st semester even go!?! The past couple weeks have been pretty uneventful. I started back at work at the before/after school program I was at last semester. It's good to have a job again... that was the first time I haven't been working, basically since I was 15! I just found out that, since we now have an assistant manager, or second person in charge, which we didn't have last semester, our hours are getting cut. So now I'm only going to get 2, maybe 3, shifts a week. So that's only 6-9 hours a week, which won't help me survive in this expensive city. So now I have to find a 2nd job that fits in with my schedule of school and the other job... not something I'm really looking forward to. I was a little disappointed because I really like my other job, my co-workers, the kids, and the great pay... but I guess there's not much I can do.

My school schedule is pretty nice, I don't have classes on Fridays, and Mon-Thurs my classes don't start earlier than 11am. Monday & Tuesday I only have one lecture each day... which is also very nice, especially since the school requires teachers to put all their lectures online, so if I'm sick, I can just go online and listen to them that same day. This semester I'm only taking 3 classes, which is nice in a way, since classes are so hard here I can put more effort into them. International students are only allowed to take 14 semester hours, and my 3 classes totaled to 12 semester hours. I have a feeling this semester is going to go by really fast though... I can't believe I'll be back home in 4 months!!! I'm taking some really cool classes this semester, though: The Politics of Terrorism, American Foreign Policy towards the Third World, and States & Nations. They should all be really interesting.... and hard - I'm sure I'll have my work cut out for me.

My birthday is in 2 weeks and I'll be turning the big TWENTYTWO. It's gonna be really hard celebrating alone, especially after last year when I had all my friends and most of my family in Iowa City for my 21st. I don't have anything planned and probably won't plan anything because my Finnish roommate Michaela goes back home to Finland that day. I was going to buy some concert tickets for myself as a birthday present, but most of my friends don't like the same music as I do, so that idea is out the window.

Anyways, not too much else exciting happening. Until the past few days, we basically had 2 weeks straight of clouds and rain... I literally did not see the sun for atleast 10 days!! Needless to say, my tan is gone!! I'm hoping the hot summer weather isn't over just yet, but I can't complain because Chicago just got hit with more snow 😊 Sorry guys!!!



Advertisement



24th February 2009

I hope you have a great semester! 22 wow Happy almost birthday love you

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb