The Land of Oz


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Mosman
April 8th 2006
Published: April 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Australia, it’s hard to write about, the people, the humour, the food, the climate, the buildings and even the traffic laws are so like home it’s almost like being back. I can see why so many ex-pats live here; it must be such an easy transition, sort of like moving to slightly odd part of the UK with better weather. Nowhere was this more true than Melbourne which reminded me of a modern European city where I was expecting a cityscape more akin to New York.
Throughout my stay in Melbourne I was staying with my godmother, having a home cooked meal and a decent bed did me wonders. On my first day I went to an animal sanctuary called Healesville where I saw (and in some cases stroked) Koalas, Kangaroos, Wombats, Spotted Quolls and even a Tasmanian Devil. Australian animals are so peculiar and alien to what were used to at home the whole trip was fascinating. Probably the highlight of the city was going to see a Aussie rules football match, it made very little sense but was terrific to watch. The nicest thing was the continual banter between the supporters of the opposing teams, it was all very offensive but at the same time light hearted and completely without malice.
The Sydney Harbour, what can you say, seeing those two iconic structures is really something special. The city has a lot to offer tourists I’ve already done the aquarium, the observatory and the botanical gardens but the two highlights so far have to be the Harbour Bridge Climb & the tour of the opera house. The bridge climb was quite amusing because you had to dress up in a boiler suit and wear all this safety gear while being constantly told “this will be the climb of your life”, it was great fun and gave some amazing views but they really over egged the hype. While in Sydney I’ve been staying with a couple I met in India, tomorrow several of the Aussies and I are meeting up for a reunion lunch. Just need to figure out where I’m going next and I will be sorted!



Advertisement



10th April 2006

An inspiration!
Hi Will, Sorry I haven't been in touch, just wanted to say that you are my inspiration! Have been so ridiculously busy with this teaching course that sometimes I lose all bearing on having a life so in moments of desperation I have been reading your adventures and dreaming of a time when I might have the time to do anything remotely as fantastic. Also, I have been discussing and following some of your adventures with my Year 1 class (most of which cannot begin to imagine any world outside their rough chav council estate). They were particularly interested in the tame tigers and have been seen imitating the experience together on the playground! See you truly are an inspiration! Take care mate and say hello to the sunshine for me... Soph x (p.s. can just imagining the re-enactments of scuba-diving with sharks on the playground after Easter break!)

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 28; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb