Arrived in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Leichhardt
July 14th 2008
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm really behind on these things- I'm finally able to update about Melbourne and I've already arrived in Sydney!

When we left Surfer's, we left behind temperatures in the mid 20s, a beach front location, and our own apartments with beds, showers, and laundry. When we arrived in Melbourne it was a cruel shock, because it was rainy, humid, and cold. Our accomodations were a school gym (that didn't have any heating). Quite the change. It took me about 3 days to get acclimatized to the cold in Melbourne, and to actually begin to appreciate the beauty of the city. Everyday began the same- up for the bus at 8, transport to St. Peter and Paul Church for breakfast, and then grab a quick look on Facebook in the basement internet cafe before Divine Liturgy at 10. There is a choir that changed the St. John Chrysostom Liturgy into a modern English 5 part harmonizing choir, and after the first shock of a complete different take on the mass, everyone quickly fell in love with the beauty of the voices. I took a video of part of the mass- I'll see if I'm able to upload it (I don't have my connecting cord right now).

After an Akafist (a prayer to a martyr or Saint similar to a rosary) we headed out to Melbourne. We took the tram everywhere, and checked out Victoria Market (the largest in the Southern Hemisphere) and downtown. I experienced all of Melbourne from the seated perspective, as a woman loaned me hers for the week (not to worry, she was walking fine). A definite highlight was the last day, when I went out for chocolates at Koko Blanc (or something like that) Chocolate shop, and had the BEST chocolate of my entire life- I kid you not. I'd go as far as to say it's worth a 2 thousand dollar plane trip for this chunk of heaven.

On Thursday there was a rally at Federation Square, and alot of pilgrims that were spending Days in the Dioceses in Melbourne came out with their flags to listen to music and get into the unavoidable spirit of World Youth Day. Then on Friday we went for a Mass in Telstra Dome (where they play rugby). There were hundreds of priests and bishops, and thousands of people.

Saturday was the farewell Zabava, and after sitting for the first bit, Maryana pulled me into the Kolomayka for a one legged sprinkler, and then after that Alexa pulled me out to just dance. Everyone made a protective circle around me and I hopped on one foot for about an hour. Awesome time.

Today we got up and left our cold accomodations by 7 to catch a flight to Sydney only to have our plane delayed until 12:45. It was nice though, because everyone got a $30 voucher and I snagged a few complimentary waterbottles. Now we're in Sydney staying at St Andrews Parish with a bunch of Ukrainians from the States, Australia, and Ukraine. The showers look a little more promising, and so does the weather. I'm "borrowing" a wheelchair from the airport for the week, so we have transportation for me. I can feel the ankle healing though, and even if I can't walk on it in Cairns, I can't wait to get rid of the crutches.

In Melbourne there were Pilgrims everywhere in WYD garb, carrying around their countries flag proudly, and just giving out so much energy that it's impossible to be bummed out with something as small as a broken ankle.

The internet cafe is really close to our accomodations, so I hope to get some pictures up in the next week, but the WYD celebrations and programming will take up most of my time. Hope you're all well!

PS- The best part of Sydney so far is our Pilgrims pass that includes your identification, food vouchers, and event tickets. When I was going through my registration before I left I checked off that I was disabled- and so mine has a handicapped sticker on it. Front seats for the Pope! BOOYAH!





Advertisement



15th July 2008

Special Treatment
Yahoo, This broken ankle think does not seem to be slowing you down. It was nice of the lady to lend you her wheelchair but I sure didn't expect the airport to lend yu a chair. Front row seats for the Pope! Lucky you. Say a small prayer for Tini as she is recovering in hospital from a urinary tract infection. Thx. Stay safe but have FUN!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb