Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Kings Cross
July 12th 2011
Published: July 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello everybody,

Firstly I have uploaded loads of pics onto previous blogs, so check them out...!

Well got to Sydney ok, spent last Wednesday walking around Singapore taking loads and loads of pics. Then got my flight at 7:50pm. Sat next to a really nice Australian guy, who had been holidaying with his wife in Europe. he was retired and had been on a 9 week cruise. he gave me loads of info on Sydney and Aus so that was cool. We landed at 5am Sydney time, (3am Asia time) and I had to wait 2 hours for my bus to the hostel. Total nightmare, was shattered and went straight to sleep as soon as I got there. When i woke up at lunch on Thursday I spent the day walking around Sydney. Took lots of pics of the bridge and Opera house e.t.c, was cool. Then went back to the hostel and went for my first run of the new season, was also ok and felt not to bad. In the evening I went for steak and chips in the bar opposite for 10$, Sydney is very very expensive, but dinner is the one thing I don't mind paying for...! My hostel is ok, quite cheap at 18$ a night, I have 50$ per day left for the rest of my trip...! Got an early night and slept well...

On Friday I went to Manly on the boat. Was really really good. Pete Friend (Adam's brother) was in town somewhere but didn't have his number so went to Manly for the day...I sat and watched the surfers for an hour and had a walk down the beach. Then I walked round the headland and sat on the cliffs for a few hours. I got the ferry back to Sydney at sunset, which was mint. (pics to come later). The ferry ride to Manly is 30 mins and goes right through Sydney harbour, well good views ad really nice! When I got back I chilled out, had steak again and got an early night, as still was waiting for Pete to email me back...!

On Saturday I got up and went on a free walking tour of the city. You have a guide for the day and he talks about all the sights and things to do in Sydney...again I took loads of pics and saw the Rocks, Cathedral, Hyde Park and lots of other things, aswell as the bridge and Opera house again. In the afternoon after the tour finished I went and sorted my bus pass out to move up the coast, and then had a beer and went shopping...I had already bought bread for toast and bought some pasta and veg, and sauce so that I can eat to a budget...! Cooked up some dinner and then had some drinks with all the people in my dorm as it was Sat night. I had arranged to meet Pete in a club in Oxford Road (gay area) of Sydney and me and all my hostel walked down there. I had met a dutch and spanish guy who were really sound. Ended up not getting in the club as I had no ID (apparently you need ID every club in Aus), which was very annoying as I had been trying to meet with Pete for 2 days and the club was a 30 min walk, haha. Me and the 2 guys from my hostel walked back got my ID and went out in Kings Cross for a beer We staying in Kings Cross) and then went to bed.

On Sunday I headed over to Bondi beach with the dutch guy from my hostel and met Pete and his mate Adian. They are in Melbourne playing hockey and had come over for a few days, was well good to see him. We had lunch on Bondi and watched the surfers and had a walk. they were with some Spanish girls who I also met. When the susnet we all went back and I had steak again, haha and then Pete, Adian and the Spanish girls came over to my hostel. We all drank wine and then went out to a really cool club in the Cross...

Yesterday (Monday) I went back to Manly again with Pete and his party. We had lunch, which Pete very kindly paid for, haha, he insisted which was well sound as I am on a tight budget. Had a really nice seafood risoto, I wasn't going to have lunch but it was very very nice in the end...We then walked round to the cliffs with Adian and the Spanish and me and Pete climbed down the cliff and sat on the rocks We took some pics of nutter surfers who had paddled out to a reef, very dangerous surfing near the rocks. We climbed back up, met the others and chilled on the rocks for half an hour looking out over the pacific. We got the ferry back at sunset again and all took loads of pics. I went back and did my washing and cooked pasta and then headed over to their hostel for the night. We played some cards and went out for a couple of beers...Said our goodbyes, sad to say bye to more mates...!

Today I woke up and packed all my stuff as heading up to Byron bay in a short while. I got the train to the Blue mountains for the day. Took 2 hours from Sydney Central. The bus around the mountains was 35$ which is what everybody goes on and then stops off at various points, but I figured with a tummy full of carbs and on my own I could walk the lot...! haha. I set off and walked all around the routes and pathways over cliffs and the views were stunning. I walked down the giant staircase, almost 900 steps down and back. i will put pics up soon. The Views were absolutely amazing, really really good. I walked right round and saw the waterfalls and caught the train back at 4:25pm. Reckon I smashed out about 8/9 miles in 3 hours and it was hard going...! Got back to Kings Cross just now and went for my final steak and chips, haha, 4/6 nights here. I was stood at the bar and spotted the legend Steve Longhurst stood at the bar with a couple of Aussie girls hanging on his every word. I was totally gobsmacked, I had seen Joe Drapper in the Gili Islands, but this was even more random. Anyway, ended up having a nice chat with Steve for an hour after I managed to prize him away from his Aussie girls. We were taking work and other things, a very nice hour or so, haha. He very kindly bought me a beer and is now sat opposite me in the internet cafe. Random...! ha. Right sorry its a quick blog, I am off to Byron Bay now on the night bus...

Love you all

Luke x x x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb