My 1 week temp work!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Kings Cross
November 28th 2010
Published: November 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, as i'm sure most of you have heard (or seen on Facebook) last week I got a temp job. It was only for 4 days, but it was good money and better than nothing. I was working in the claims department of an insurance underwritting company. I was just doing general admin taks like filing etc, but it filled the day and I got to work in a georgous location. The office was at Milsons point, the other side of the harbour by Luna Park, and my desk looked out on to the Harbour Bridge (just look at the pictures). The office was amazing and I got my first taste of working for an aussie company. The atmosphere was very laid back and on Fridays you got to finish at 4:30 and go up to the 6th floor for beer and wine!?! Definately didn't get that in Bromley. It was very strange working 9 to 5 and I got a full hour lunch break - didn't know what to do with myself, so just sat in the sun, listening to music. It's a hard life!! I seemed to make a good impression and the staff thought I was really good, so maybe they called me back for more work - fingers crossed.
Oh I also walked back form the office one night over the Harbour Bridge - pretty sureal. I realised I really love bridges and took loads of pics to add to my growing bridge photo collection.

While I was working, I stayed in a hostel in Kings Cross. The hostel was ok. I saw my first ever cockroach there and there were loads of baby cockraoches in my dorm. You get cockroaches everywhere, so i'm glad Ii got my first sighting over and done with now! The hostel was a bit of a party hostel and right on the main road, so not great if you want a decent nights sleep, but it was cheap. Staying there I also got to experience Kings Cross. Not sure how to put this but Kings Cross area in Sydney isn't the nicest part of town. Every other door seems to lead to a strip club or adult shop - oh did I forget to mention that prostitution is legal in NSW!! Yep, I was shoocked too. However, I survived in Kings Cross by myself and it is definately where all the back packers hang out because hostels are so much cheaper. There are loads of clubs and bars. Apart form the XXX clubs, it's not too bad and I am defiantely being safe when i'm out by myself, i'm not silly, I do have some 'street sense'.

Shell and Lauren arrive on Wednesday. I'm going to meet them at the airport and I have booked myself into a hostel in King Cross again (not the same one as before, but still really cheap, it's called The Original Backpackers and is in an old victorian house). The girls are going to stay in a hotel for the first few nights and then I belive the plan will be to go to Bondi at the weekend. So after the weekend I should have a better idea of my plans and will tell all in the next blog. I'm sure i'll have tonnes of photos of Bondi beach and again, I have read up all about sea safety so please don't worry, especially the grandparents : )
love you all, missing you all tonnes
xxxx
(definately love this blogging lark, don't know why I didn't do this last time!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb