Sydney August 7th - 13th (Glebe)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Glebe
August 15th 2008
Published: August 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I had next to no sleep on the flight from KL to Sydney despite trying to induce sleep with a couple of wines. So I was knackered as land came into view but it didn't stop my excitement. It suddenly hit me that I was back in Australia and I remembered, looking out the window at sun rising over the mountins how much I LOVE OZ!!!!

One thing that struck me (not in a good way) was how bloody cold it was as I came out the airport. Hmm perhaps my bag full of bikinis and summer dresses, shorts etc wasn't going to be that useful to me afterall!!

I am staying in Glebe- a western suburb within walking distance to the CBD via Darling Harbour so I was quite pleased with my choice of hostel. Location wise anyway. I had managed to pick a hostel with no heating!!

Glebe is quite a cool, funky bohemian area and I liked it straight away - lots of pubs, cafes and bookshops.....I spent my week here with a few girls from the hostel exploring the local pubs (Loving the Toxteth Hotel's wine vending machine....) and shops (I had some wooly jumper buying to do remember) and victoria park. I even went to the victoria park gym and outdoor pool although I was in the pool approx 5 minutes before my hands and feet turned blue - and they said it was a heated pool. Hmm I want my money back!! Sydney Uni is also nearby which is quite cool - lots of students about (making me feel old!!). But I feel more of a local and less of a backpacker this time round.

I did have a couple of touristy days though when I went to see the opera house - its funny how it does dissapoint a little - its just not as white as it is in the photos!! I also did a wee walk round the Botanic gardens to see the bats. That walk depressed me a little as I saw at least 10 people out with personal trainers doing weird and wonderful exercises on the grass and sprints around the place. Really should get in a bit more exercise - damn fit and healthy Ozzies!! I've also been to the Art Gallery of New South Wales and the Museum of Contemporary Art but I won't tell you anything about them as mainly I don't really "get" art and don't have much to tell - but the gift shops and cafes were nice.... oh and I saw a very cool giant portrait of dame edna everage wearing a fetching fuschia pink dress and lime green hat - I like that kind of art!

I also went to Palm beach with my mate Ruth from the hostel a few days ago. As a lot of you will know this is where they film Home and Away. I was very dissapointed on turning up at the Surf Club (after a 2 hour bus journey) only to find that it was Alf Stewart's day off! AND it rained!! To demonstrate just how committed the Ozzies are to their sport - during a very heavy and cold rain storm there were still loads of surfers out doing there thing and a fit (in both senses) young man doing laps of the beach pool!! I mean it was freezing and that doesn't even put them off!!

Its just a short walk from Glebe along the front with beautiful views of both the Anzac Bridge and Harbour bridge and lots of very nice yachts to the Sydney Fish Markets. I've never been before but its now one of my new favourite places in Sydney!! Aurelie (another girl from the hostel) and I sat outside in the sun (ok with jackets and hats and sunnies on) with giant oysters and giant prawns and BYO wine with Pelicans watching us....not a bad way to spend an afternoon.

Now, thanks to some very kind and generous lovely people, I am moving house to live in Balmain for a few weeks (Thanks Pete, Nancy and Paul)!

LMx



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0845s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb