Meet the Family


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Coogee Beach
December 30th 2006
Published: January 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today we returned from the Blue Mountains into Sydney.

We have a new base for the next few days - in Edgecliff - the next village of Sydney! It is still close to the City Centre - but a much nicer area than King's Cross! In fact the view from the hotel room is out across the East of the Harbour - over an area called Double Bay - known to the locals as Double Pay due to the plethora of multi million dollar apartments and homes.

After our train back into the city and some lunch, we relaxed a bit at the hotel before doing a few chores. Afterwards we gave my relative Paul a call and arranged to get together again for Dinner, and a chance for me to meet more of my relatives in Oz.

We hadn't explained before but I (Dan) have a small part of my family here in Oz that we have not had proper contact with for 60 years! Paul is 61, and is my second cousin. I only had an old address for him before we reached Oz, and through a bit of research on the Oz White Pages we tracked him down and established contact a few weeks ago. We actually met up on Xmas Eve - which was brilliant - he was quite suprised and taken aback that anyone from the UK still existed I think! He was a great host back on Xmas Eve, taking us round all of the Eastern suburbs and around Botany Bay.

I hadn't mentioned all this until now as we wanted to meet the rest of his family and not freak them out by descending on them all of a sudden after a small (60 year) hiatus!

Nonetheless we had a lovely evening (our first roast dinner in months!) and I also managed to instigate a call back home to the folks to allow them to speak to him after our 2nd bottle of red wine! I think everyone back home was a bit overwhelmed.

Attached is the photo of myself, my new found 2nd cousin Paul (!), Gloria and Rebekka.

Advertisement



4th January 2007

Happy New Year
Hi Guys , hope you had a great New Year . We had a fab time at the Kylie New Years party . Missing you like mad . Hope to hear from you soon . Take Care Lots of Kisses Nickyxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0987s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb