Sydney 20th-6th Christmas and New Year


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Coogee Beach
December 26th 2006
Published: January 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

SydneySydneySydney

Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House
I arrived in Sydney in the early afternoon on 20th December where the city looked huge! Skyscrapers everywhere. The city looked brilliant. Later that evening I met up with Andy my Canadian friend I had organised to meet up with again. We went for a drink at this bar called 'The Side Bar' which was a totally different night scene to anywhere in New Zealand, full of people all having a good time it was great! The next day I went to explore the city and visit the sites. I went to the botanic gardens, the harbour bridge and the Opera house which I thought was the best piece of architecture Id ever seen it looked amazing! In the evening I went and checked out some of the other clubs elsewhere to get a broad outlook of the nightlife in Sydney. I went to this bar called the 'Scary Canery' with a Swedish lad called Jimmy who I had become good friends with at my hostel.
The next two days I went on a surfing trip out of the city to a remote beach camp where it was fantastic! The beach was beautiful and the instructors were a great laugh I wish I had longer there. Surfing was cool! Its a hard sport but I was starting to get the hang of it after a while. I was standing with ease on my second day. I would love to keep it up.
When I got back to Sydney it was christmas eve now and Andy had managed to let me stay at the apartment he was staying at in Coogee Beach just out of the city but one of the top beaches in Sydney just behind Bondi, and Manly. The apartment was amazing! It was a massive 6 bedroom house each room really spacious. I was given my own room next to Andys in a double bed! It had a massive living room which had a great view of the sea out of the window. After meeting everyone, David, Adian, Warren and Blake, me and Andy headed out into the city for a night out. Again the night was a great success and a really good laugh especially being with Andy (my Wing man lol)
On Christmas Day me and Andy headed down to the beach with a cooler loaded with beers and as soon as it was 1 minute past twelve we started with the alcohol. The beach was packed and so was the grass area behind but it was a good laugh speaking to everyone. At about half 6 we headed back to the apartment to have our Christmas Dinner. Me and Andy had T-Bone steak then we went out.
The next couple of days involved a similar routine just chilling on the beach, meeting Andys friends and partying with them or going out in the evening. On new Years eve Me and Andy headed up to the botanical gardens to try and get a good spot to see the fireworks on the hartbour bridge. We were very lucky because we managed to push into the que as one of Andys friends was already in the cue to get in. To explain how busy it was Andy's friend had been quing up since 9:30am and we turned up at 1:30pm and they were still in the que! Plus the line behind them wa ginormous! When we got in we managed to get one of the best seats you could get right at the front of the grass area with a perfect view of the harbour bridge and Opera house. We got 4 bottles of wine between us and by the time the fireworks were on we were merry enough the fireworks were a blast! They were a great show and worth the 12 hour wait! In fact I was so awake that night I didnt get to sleep until 1pm the next day! it was crazy! On the 2nd of January I visited the blue mountains a remote part about 2hr drive from sydney. it had great scenery and it was really interesting seeing the Kangaroos and kawallas. Then soone enough it was time for me to go back to nz. It was great seeing my mate Andy again, we've become really good mates even from meeting first in nz and Im sure we'll stay in touch. I had a great time - a perfect place for a holiday in my eyes!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Christmas Day Christmas Day
Christmas Day

Drinking Next to Coogee Beach
Me and AndyMe and Andy
Me and Andy

reunited
Boxing DayBoxing Day
Boxing Day

All very Drunk!
Blue Mountains- The Witch/The SkullBlue Mountains- The Witch/The Skull
Blue Mountains- The Witch/The Skull

I think it looks more like a Skull but its named 'The Witch'
The Blue MountainsThe Blue Mountains
The Blue Mountains

Can you notice the Blue tinge to everything?


Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb