Day 4 - First mission identified


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Balmain
May 21st 2008
Published: May 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

For those who can read Chinese here is a story which will touch your heart:
http://sichuan.scol.com.cn/sckj/20080516/200851693235.htm

Here is a quick English translation:

“On 12 May, a high school English teacher named Mr. Wu sacrificed his life to save his student. After guiding his class safely to the playground from the fourth floor, Mr. Wu went back into the building in search of his last student who was missing. Fate did not forgive him for such a heroic act, he was killed when the whole building collapsed.

He left behind a sick wife and young children.”


It hurts my heart to see that somebody like him with no selfishness sacrificed his life to save other and his family has to suffer. Without social safety net or compensation, his family is doomed for financial hardship after losing their bread winner.

This school is located near my parents’ house, they too are so touched by the story. I have been asked to provide support to this family. This has become my first mission when I arrive at the country side. I will work out a financial plan depending on total funds available to help and the best way to support this family.

Tomorrow night I will be at a Red Cross charity fund raising event organised by Julia so won't be able to post, and then I am leaving for Beijing where I will stay for 2 days. So hopefully my next post will be from Chengdu early next week.

Thanks to friends in China who contacted me to ask for Chinese bank account details for donation purpose. Here are the details:

银行帐号:招商银行成都分行
卡号:9555500280896266
开户人:严建
严建 is my sister's husband, he will ensure the money gets to me.

Please mark the payment with your name.

Thanks.

Bob
Thanks for friends and families who have donated generously,
Current balance of the fund reached in Australia: Aud$3,250 or $21,450 Yuan
Amount spent so far: $0
For donation details please refer to Day 1’s blog.
Please subscribe to the blog to receive the latest updates.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb