Back to the best dive in Australia!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » South West Rocks
November 11th 2016
Published: November 19th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I know, last Saturday I was diving in South Africa, and this Friday, after spending 2 days at home in Bangkok, here it is, a little dive in the Pacific in Australia. I imagine the title will be controversial for many of you. I have to admit, I do not think the Great Barrier Reef is offering the best diving in Australia. Little disclaimer, I haven't done the Yongala wreck yet...and that place suppose to be amazing too!



This is not my first go at diving Fish Rock out of South West Rocks, I did it already four years ago...and trust me, even on the second time, it's an amazing place! The marketing over this place is close to non existent! So don't worry if you have never heard of the place. Only two dive centers here. I'm diving with the smallest one run by Jon, I name Fish Rock dive center.



More about the diving further in my little blog...but first, you have to make it to South West Rocks. This is exactly in the middle between Sydney and Brisbane, just 25km off Highway 1. Not a single sign on M1 to let you know there is some diving out of here...so you may have drive-by not knowing the jewel hidden few miles away. Sadly, one way rental in Australia are pretty expensive. So we did Bangkok-Sydney-Brisbane on Emirates and Qantas before picking up the car for the 500km drive south. I have to admit, that was a pretty long day! Last time I visited, I stay above the local pub...it was expensive. There are not many choices over here for accommodation, and none of them is a bargain. As we were on the clock, just there for me to dive next morning before heading back to the Gold Coast...we went for easy and affordable, renting a cabin in the local camping ground. Easy...and basic night!



If you don't dive, the place is simply very tranquil. There is the famous Smoky light house...only second to Byron Bay when it comes to Westerly point of Australia. They also have a goal that use to be one of the oldest prisoner camp in Australia with hard labor building a protected port. Last time, I had few kangaroos sighting...and one fun one entering the goal. We only spotted one today at the light house...but we had few snakes. We all know the reputation of Australia for snakes, and I have to admit, I do not know my snakes...so we kept a safe distance each time. Those who have an idea of the little one in the picture...comments are welcome!



So South West Rocks for me, is all about the diving. I had emailed few times to Jon. Are we sure we are going...because I'm not driving 1000km in 36 hours for a no-go. So yes, windguru.com confirmed it, the ocean was flat, it would be a nice day. Jon had only one diver that day. Solo diver doing three dives a day....while Jon was manning the boat. So I did two dives with Jon. Trust me, it's always more fun to dive with the owner of the dive center...specially, when it's only two of us.



My souvenirs from June 2012 diving here...2 dives...had grey nurse sharks, wobbegong sharks all over...few eagle rays, few bull rays, tens of lobsters, few nudibranches...and one turtle. I remember very well, the water was cold, it was pretty green too with average visibility....but it was simply amazing!



Today, no eagle rays or bull rays...but everything else is there...plus some more. We had nudibranches, but we also had fun porcelain crabs. Better even, today the water was a nice 23 degrees...and it was blue and clear! These are simply perfect conditions!



The little island of fish rock has something even better to offer...the longest cave to dive in Australia. This is a good 65 meters in total dark....well, we have torches! Sadly, I couldn't spot properly the cuttle fishes eggs, this will be for next time!



I'm going to try to be back here in 2019...I know, it's not tomorrow....but this dive site worth a visit from time to time! And I was more than happy to see again Jon...the diving world is a small one...and we tend to remember the people we enjoy diving with!


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb