Happy Birthday To Me


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Port Macquarie
February 24th 2006
Published: February 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The ManThe ManThe Man

This guys a legend! (Len)
Kayaking and Harley rides! wahoo!
Got up early to do my kayaking down the creek to see thousands of fruit bats. the creek leads down to mangroves and island where the trees are literally overrun with these bats. It smells nasty cos there's so many, The guide thought it would be fun to clap and scare them up so there was thousands of fruit bats flying over us, I mean thousands...sky was absolutely full! was unbelievable! and quite alarming.
After the creek we headed out the river to the sea, round a small break water to a little secluded beach, its up a headland and hard to reach by car. there we stopped for a bite to eat, the guide brought fruit...slightly odd young man but undeniably passionate bout bats abd boats! a few dolphins were swimming up the river so we watched them for a while then paddled back to the creek mouth where we started. The guide thought, since it was my birthday, that I had to get wet, so I arrived back at the hostel dripping wet!!!
Just had time to get a shower and some lunch before it was time to go find my harley man! I
the bikethe bikethe bike

This bikes a legend!
say it was time....he was coming to pick me up at 2 pm so at around 20 to i was sat at the end of the drive waiting, eager and excited, camera poised, heart racing, then i heard it! a few streets away...1350cc of raw power! I was a mess when he pulled up, all stutters and stares
Len introduced himself and pulled out a leather jacket with the best tassels you've ever seen. He checked the helmet fitted the I jumped aboard and couldnt sit still.
He started the engine and i nearly whooped with delight. fabulous machine....magestic green...British racing green!
We set off along the beaches, right along the coast, south to a little town called Laurieton where there is a little mountain with a lookout on the top where the hang gliders jump off, it was amazing watching them reading the winds and judging the speeds and directions to perfection to just step off this hill and know they wouldnt be sent spinning in to the trees.
Back on the bike to head home along the highway...this i was looking forward to! heading down the highway Len says "you're not in a hurry are you?" 'NOPE' so
the viewsthe viewsthe views

isnt it pretty!
we went the interesting, winding way home....fast highway with a few turns. hit about 150kmph and i was in heaven, had my hair whipping out behind me and the radio between the two helmets meant i had full, friendly, informative commentary from a guy who genuinesly loves his job!
Think that was officially my best birthday pressie to myself ever!
On my arrival back at the hostel i wandered in to the courtyard to find becky, russ and mark had banners and balloons and were preparing a birthday party! I was blown away. these people are immense!
They organised a slap up meal too....sausages, burgers, pasta salad, an amazing meal and they wouldnt let me pay at all, or help, or wash up!!!
Then we went in to town for my birthday night out. A few bars then a dingy but entertaining club called...Down Under....and guess what...its in a basement! great night.
Me and Russ headed home bout 3am and laid looking at the stars for ages...birthday kisses for me!
shame they leave tomorrow, i have another night here!
Best birthday ever!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb