Finally winter ends!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Orange
October 18th 2012
Published: April 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It's currently 6:30pm and I am happy. Why? Because the sun is still up and it's deliciously warm. I don't have to wear a coat. I can let my little toes be free in sandles. Spring is here and I've never been more glad.

In the northern hemisphere, seasonal affective disorder, SAD, is common enough to be common knowledge. But a northern hemisphere inhabitant would assume that inhabitants in "sunny" Australia would not suffer from such seasonal mood swings.

I figured that too. The first few times I experienced Aussie winters, I was shocked at the lack of proper heating and insulation, and thus shocked at the single digit temperatures (Celcius, below 50F) that it would commonly reach inside buildings. Aren't buildings meant to protect you from the elements? One of which being extreme temperatures? But many Australians are in denial that it gets cold. And so buildings are often not built to the standards of other areas that regularly dip below freezing for several months of the year. But, despite all that, it was mostly nice during the day. Sunny, with temperatures often climbing above 10 degrees. So why would I experience winter blues like I had in
Cherry BlossomsCherry BlossomsCherry Blossoms

Many areas in the Central West grow cherries - yum!
the colder countries?

This winter was often cold, windy, rainy, and I worked in an office. And I was swamped with work. A 50 minute commute into the sun both ways didn't help. It was often dark when I got into the car in the morning, or when I got out of the car at home. "Metro, boulot, dodo", only without the "metro".

To add to it, last "summer" wasn't really a summer. It rained. A lot. It wasn't warm. So a lack of summer followed by a cold winter in uninsulated buildings...combined with work stress, and throw a few other factors into the mix...I was desparate for a change of season!

And so, now that spring is here, I am relieved.

Some photos of spring in the Central West to celebrate.



And time to plan the next trip, methinks....


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Apple BlossomsApple Blossoms
Apple Blossoms

Orange is one of Australia's apple growing areas.
Mt CanobolasMt Canobolas
Mt Canobolas

View from the Orange Botanic Gardens


9th April 2013

Growing up in a temperate climate, I suppose I, too, never thought of Australia having a much of a "winter" in the traditional sense. But regardless of how warm it is the lack of sunlight would certainly give me the blues. Glad spring is finally on its way to you! Such lovely photos.

Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 31; qc: 147; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb