Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Newcastle
July 4th 2010
Published: July 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Hamburg - London - Singapore - Sydney - Newcastle


Yesterday night, I arrived back in Australia. Yay! And they even let me into the country 😉.

I had a lot to do last week after coming home from Copenhagen on Sunday night. I still had to finish my preparations for the congress in Melbourne, and there was a lot of other work to do. Apart from that, I had two appointments with trainers, one on Monday and one on Thursday evening, because I would like to start personal training. More on that soon. Besides, I had some paperwork that I needed to finish, and, and, and…

Thursday night, I went for a barbecue with my colleagues, on the beach of the river Elbe, which feels almost like being by the sea. After four hours of sleep, I got up, packed my suitcase and went to the airport, where my flight left at seven on Friday morning. I flew from Hamburg to London and from there through Singapore to Sydney.

I had four hours at London Heathrow - what an awful place to be! The airport is just huge (hadn’t been there for at least 15 years), so you have to catch a bus that takes you from
Flying over London IIFlying over London IIFlying over London II

Houses of Parliament
one terminal to another. And the waiting area in the terminal I had to wait in for my connecting flight was just so overcrowded. There are a lot of shops and restaurants, and in the middle of that, there are some seats for waiting passengers. Finally, I spent some time looking for a quiet place to spend my time, but I could not find one. So I ended up going for a long walk from gate to gate.

Singapore airport was a delightful place compared to that. Lots of room, chairs in which you can have a foot massage by a machine for free (that was sooo good!), and free internet access.

Finally, I arrived in Sydney. It was fantastic to see Monica and Scott. I was just so happy! And I still am. Even the dogs gave me a warm welcome when we got to Monica and Scott’s place in Newcastle.

We did not do much today. Had breakfast, went shopping and for a walk with the dogs. Scott and Camo have just gone for a flight, and later on, some friends are coming for a barbecue. By the way: Being in the middle of winter
London HeathrowLondon HeathrowLondon Heathrow

... just so overcrowded and loud.
here means having temperatures around 17 degrees 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Monica workingMonica working
Monica working

Preparing a barrel that we will use for making a fire tonight.
SlippersSlippers
Slippers

Monica borrowed me her warm slippers for walking around in the house.
Cold winter???Cold winter???
Cold winter???

Can't be THAT cold, this bush is in Monica and Scott's backyard.


Tot: 0.369s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 27; qc: 141; dbt: 0.2664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb