Newcastle


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Newcastle
February 24th 2007
Published: March 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well after our three and a half hour journey we got to Newcastle and we checked into the Backpackers by the Beach Hostel for 3 nights, which was funnily enough by the beach!

Newcastle is the biggest exporter of coal in the world and also the second oldest city in Oz - just abit of knowledge for you there!!

Basically the weather was pretty rubbish for the whole time we were there, probably similar to Newcastle in England. Surely this isn't the deal - I'm in Oz so where's the sunshine!?!?!

To occupy us we watched films and played card games, a card game called s**t head that I just couldn't get the hang of but I am sure by the end of my travels I will be a pro without a doubt if the weather continues!

One good aspect of hanging around the hostel is that we have met some really nice people and a girl called Hayley from Cornwall who is going to travel up the coast with us.

On our last day the sun decided to make an appearance at long last and we went on a trip to a place called Hunter Valley which is inland abit and this is the home of many many wineries and you also got to sample some cheeses and chocolate so I can quite easily say I was in my element!!!!

We were picked up at 9am and we got to our first winery at about 10.30am feeling slightly sleepy but after a few tasters I started to liven up!!

After our visit to the 5th winery and feeling slightly tipsy (N.B - this is an understatement as my mum will be reading this!) we thought we would use the breathalizer test to see how tipsy we really were!!!

Bearing in mind we all had roughly the same amount my reading came out at 0.86, the other Hayley came out at 0.37 and Tim came out at 0.48, so it proved something that I sort of new anyway but it confirmed in writing that yes HayleyGaines is the biggest lightweight possibly going!!!

At 5pm that evening we had to get back on the Greyhound Bus to make our four and a half hour journey to Port Macquarie a little further up the coast, and so the journey continues.....................................






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Cheers me dears!Cheers me dears!
Cheers me dears!

Me, Hayley and Tim at Hunter Valley


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb