Home sweet home


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Manly
October 11th 2009
Published: October 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My bedMy bedMy bed

This is how I slept for several nights. The little sleeping bag in the corner is my bed if you dind't realize.
Here are some pictures of my new apartment. Note the comfortable sleeping arrangements. I want to post of few videos of the place so you can get a real feel for it, but the internet in this cafe is too slow. Just imagine the house from the movie "Fight Club." I pretty much live in that, but I'm one block back from the beach, and right in the downtown area. Can you say, "30 second walk to the Kabob stand"? I can say it, several times a day.

I'll have to post the videos on YouTube or something. I'll send the links when that's done
We just found a refrigerator on the street across town today. We carried it to our place which was exhausting but necessary. Its current contents are beer and a chocolate bar which had melted and I'm attempting to freeze. I will likely eat it for breakfast as I contemplate my life here and cry softly.

Tomorrow we get furniture, all of which was bought from a massive thrift store. Tonight, we sleep on the floor yet again. Why did I travel here again?

I'm way behind on several updates. I'll soon have posts
Chris Morgan's BedChris Morgan's BedChris Morgan's Bed

I later had to give him my tent to use as a blanket
along the lines of "surf camp chess domination" "overqualified and underemployed" "Does anyone win the juice game?" and I still have to do some gems I've already promised like "punching girls". Also by popular demand I'll do an entry on my exciting adventures in Portland, Oregon!

Uncomfortably,
James



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Eric Yang's BedEric Yang's Bed
Eric Yang's Bed

Seen here is my roommate Eric using the ground tarp from my tent as a blanket. Australia is everything we dreamt it would be.


14th October 2009

The Easy Life
Looks like you have it made! Your dancing skills were missed at Lindsey's wedding, but Olin helped me to pick up some of the slack :)
14th October 2009

hey
HaHa, hey james, sounds like a party to me. I have to say though, even after hearing of your travels, I would still rather be in Australia underneath a tent tarp, than in Ferrum Virginia. So it could be worse. Hang in there man, I'm sure things are gonna get wild real soon (you wont allow it not to be) Take care Brian PS- Here is your simpsons quote fresh from America to tie you over. Bart- MLB is monitoring us Mark Migwire- Do you want to know the horrible truth, or do you wanna see me sock some dinngers Everyone- DINNGERS DINNGERS!!!!
14th October 2009

Everything you wanted and more
Ah... I remember talking with you and others of our group at the beach this summer about your trip. It seemed like a such an exciting idea, a bit romanticized even for those of us that dared not risk facing the complete unknown of Australia. You have set forth into the wilds of the outback in search of adventure, beautiful women, and most importantly treasure. Now seeing your little unfurnished room and your vagabond roommates, I know you have nowhere to go but up. Swing away James, swing away.
15th October 2009

The Thermarest Ultralite 3/4
Jimmy, I just wanted to comment on how smart your decision was on purchasing the thermarest ultralite 3/4. I have one my self and it is so lightweight its incredible. Not only does its smart design save weight by not giving your legs any cushion (creating an incline that you sleep on and all the blood rushing away from your head as you sleep) but the thermarest engineers discovered they can shed an additional several ounces by removing all of the padding from the sleeping pad. That way when you wake up in the morning for a trip to the kabob shop or a 10 hour trek with a backpack you dont notice you are hiking because you are in a delirious state from a lack of sleep and all that blood that should have been in your head is now in your feet which is where you need it to be for walking.

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb