BBQ + bushwalking + relaxing = Blue Mountains


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Katoomba
January 30th 2006
Published: February 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

On our second bushwalk near Jenolan Caves...On our second bushwalk near Jenolan Caves...On our second bushwalk near Jenolan Caves...

I absolutely love bushwalks. It's wonderful when after trees after trees you come across a beautiful area like the one featured this photo.
This weekend was spent at the Blue Mountains YHA in Katoomba. Got the train there from the central station which my old dorm room backed onto. Only cost $5 dollars for a 2 hour journey! So glad I've got my student card early 😊

As soon as Louise and I arrived there we literally unpacked and then set off for our first bushwalk! It was so nice to be away from the city and out with nature. There were so many lizards and ants, and a weird little bright yellow caterpillar. Along the walk there were 'heaps' of lookout points across the valleys and blue mountains. It's amazing that only two hours out of the city is a place like this. We eventually made it to Echo's Point which is the big big lookout for the blue mountains and the 3 sisters. The reason they are blue is because of the oil that is given off from all the eucalyptus trees below, creating the blue misty haze. Look at me with my 'knowledge' hahaha 😊 After Echo's point we walked down the giant staircase which had about 900 steps. They were so small as well so it was quite difficult to walk down! Once reaching the bottom we realised that we only had half an hour to get to the last scenic railway, and the sign in front of us said that it was 2.5km away! So we did our very best at speedwalking non-stop! We made it though and caught the steepest train in world! It went backwards through this hole in the mountainside, more or less vertically! Twas pretty scary but gave you such an amazing view. I would've taken a photo from here but i was scared i would drop all my stuff!

Back at the hostel we cooked our first meal rather than eating out. I took charge of the BBQ and Louise did the pasta. At the start I had to manage both BBQ and pasta whilst Louise was hanging up our washing, and when I came out to check on our chicken kebab sticks some guy told me that the sticks had caught on fire and he had to put them out! oops! It was yummy though the first night, but having the same thing the next day got a tad boring! The same with my Crunchy Nut Clusters, I think I'm going to get a new cereal for breakfast now. In the kicthen, I also met a guy who was from Southend. The first person I've met who's heard of South Woodham Ferrers! hahaha 😊

Our last day in Katoomba, we took a day tour to the Jenolan caves. We toured the Lucas cave which was beautiful. There were steps and lights going through it all so it was interesting to see how difficult it would've been for the people who discovered it to travel through, by candlelight! In the Cathedral chamber they sometimes have weddings and live music events. That would be so beautiful. On our journey home, the tour driver stopped off so we could get some fresh fruit and guess what.....I tried a plum and actually liked it! I think it's about time I started to try more fruit instead of just having fruit juices. My next aim is to try a peach, I'll let you all know how that goes...

Advertisement



3rd February 2006

exercise and fruit!
lucy, The photo is amazing,seems sureal that im lookin at holiday brochure style picS and its u taking them!..im drivin at mo so difficult to email and drive...you powerwalking at 5km/h wow, dad has competition on his tredmill! whatever next lucy...eating a plum and contemplating a peach!...im so proud of you sis, i am a little jealous coz it all sounds fab, better go coz im driving very nr to the central reservation ....miss u n lov u soooooo much . p.s call me soon xxxxx mmmmmwah
3rd February 2006

You are so lucky!
I am so jealous of you miss lucy. Sounds like you are havin a proper bo time too! Happy travels until next time, Thom xxxxx
3rd February 2006

u n ur fruits!!
lol I can't believe u've never tried a plum Lucy!! Well i'm so glad ur having a good time and when u hav a bbq going you have wto watch it at all times!
3rd February 2006

the dude from southend wasn't called Tom by any chance was he? i think hes out at there at the moment. hes a dude that i played hockey with hehehe. if not then ignore this completely. enjoy oh and by the way im only slightly jealous xxx
3rd February 2006

so glad ur having a good time Lucy, we are all proud of you. WOW malibu and coke in a can- must be your dream come true ahaha. it all looks so beautiful out there, mum says it looks ike your getting a tan; shes well jealous hehe. take care and keep us updated. love all of us xx

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb