On the way to Sydney...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Forster
April 30th 2010
Published: April 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It seems I'm well on my way now ! I've spent the last few days tearing down the coast of New South Wales. I'm doing about 90km a day on average, which, depending on the hills and road surface equates to about 5 hours on the saddle each day. I'm very pleased with my progress. I even took a day off in Port Macquarie and sat on the beach reading 😊
The coast is really nice to ride along, with the ocean view to my left most of the time, although there are the occasional sections where there is no alternative to the Pacific Highway. On those stretches, the hard shoulder doesn't really give me anywhere to hide from the two lanes of roaring traffic and from the gusts of wind from the passing lorries... But there's been no incidents so far (except a quickly fixed puncture this morning) and I'm trying to keep off the highway as much as possible.
I'm now in Forster, on a nice stretch of land between a group of large lakes and the ocean. It's a lovely area, but it seems that everyone else knows it too... the roads are busy with cars pulling boats and caravans. I'm about 300km North of Sydney still, but I hope to be getting there within the next 3 or 4 days !
I'm still not sure about what comes after that... I'm considering cycling on down the coast to Melbourne, but trains and buses are other options I'm looking at. I still have a few days to decide, and the health of my joints might influence this decision... I've been starting to get occasional pains in both of my knees, and if there's no improvement there, then I'll probably be taking the easy route to Melbourne ! It seems that I'm not the sprightly young man I thought I was 😊
But then again, it's been a while since my legs were last put through such an effort, I guess it's only natural that there be some discomfort...

Anyway, I'd best be on my way. More news soon !


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The sunset in Port MacquarieThe sunset in Port Macquarie
The sunset in Port Macquarie

Taken from my tent :)


30th April 2010

On the way to Sydney....
good on you Sam, what a lovely trip this must be. Is it your joints or muscles hurting. May I suggest you visit a health food store and check out a supplement for hard working muscles or joint pain, may give you support enough to get further by peddling. while you are there, check out coyo. its yoghurt made from coconut milk and the latest addiction in this house which has gone dairy free with your influence. Love Kitty
2nd May 2010

Vegans on bikes?
Not surprised your knees are complaining, Sam. I'm amazed at the stuff you're doing without any fuel in your tank. Even Lance A occasionally slips a few dead creatures into his diet. Basically, I'm just extremely envious of your japes and enjoy the world trip vicariously.via your interesting blog. Are you going to be older than your dad when you finally return to wherever? Chapeau! brian

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb