Thoughts on Traveling on the Road


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Eden
February 9th 2015
Published: February 6th 2015
Edit Blog Post

IF you're looking to find yourself, you can start by hitting the road and exploring everything the world throws your way. There's a whole world of advantages I've discovered that come with packing up your life for a few months and taking to the road. You forget how many hours are really in a day when you're stuck in a routine and do the same thing day in day out. It's another kind of freedom that comes with being able to do what you want, when you want, without being tied to a house or job or obligations and deadlines. I've taken holidays before, but I can honestly say this crazy idea of hiring a campervan and just getting out here and exploring the country is one of the best decisions I've ever made.



I think it has something to do with not having to make bookings, not having to follow the routines of tour guides and holidays planners and just being 100% in control of my own direction that has made this holiday not seem like just a holiday, but something more like a spiritual journey for me, a reawakening. It's hard to describe in words, but the inner peace that comes with waking up on a coast somewhere with the sun ruising and knowing I've got complete control over the day ahead, that just sees a stress lifted that you didn't even realise was there before.



For example, last week I wasn't happy with where I was. It was a small town, which though picturesque, was awash with kids on skateboards and unfriendly locals that didn't want to know about me. So I got behind the wheel and just headed off. When I got to my next destination it was just perfect. A lovely little sleepy town where I setup my camper for the next three days, two more than I expected to stay. That's the kind of thing you just can't do with hotel bookings and pre-arranged tours.



If you're reading this and thinking about possibly following in my footsteps and heading out in a van and exploring wherever you live, I'd have to say do it! Even at my age, it's something that I haven't regretted taking on, and any negatives are far outweighed by the amazing experiences that come along.



Jane

Advertisement



6th February 2015

Silver haired nomad
So glad to read your adventure. Keep on exploring!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb