Colourful Washing Day


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Eden
February 27th 2014
Published: March 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Sapphire Sun-Eco Holiday Village Sapphire Sun-Eco Holiday Village Sapphire Sun-Eco Holiday Village

about 5km outside Eden
Well we survived the night without being squished by a eucalypt and the wind had dropped. It was still dull, though, so we decided to pack up and move on to Eden, our next port of call. We never did see the goanna, unfortunately. Maybe we’ll find another along the way.

Barry had looked up the caravan parks in the area on WikiCamps (which a lady in one of the caravans at Genoa had recommended to us and is great!) and chosen Sapphire Sun-Eco Holiday Village, about 5km outside Eden. It was the cheapest and looked nice on the photos. It was nice. The new owners were very friendly and put themselves out to help us choose the best site available for the big van. The best site, No 19, was already booked as there would be a Fishing Competition starting on 1st March, with a $40,000 prize! That site has become well known amongst big rig owners, it seems, as it has easy access and is literally on the edge of the beach at Two Fold Bay. We’ll know what to ask for next time

The facilities were excellent. The well equipped laundry even had a beautiful tropical sea mural all over it with brightly coloured fish everywhere. Definitely cheered up the washing and ironing, which I did (I decided it was time we had a cleaning and washing day).

Barry vacuumed while I got the washing underway, then I washed the floors and did the bathroom etc. The clothes dried quite quickly and I was able to borrow an iron from the office and finish all the chores. There wasn’t an ironing board, though, so I had to iron on the huge bench with a towel over it. It reminded me of my grandmother, who never owned or used an ironing board. She always stood to do her ironing on the polished wooden table with a special old blanket covering it, that she kept for the purpose, and a clean sheet folded on top. I managed, but it took longer than normal and was very fiddly on my blouses. I think I’ll stick to sitting down at my adjustable ironing board, watching TV while I iron, thanks!!!

I was feeling exhausted after all the work so we went into town and had a pub meal. There was “grilled whole Jacket” on the menu, which it
Sapphire Sun-Eco Holiday VillageSapphire Sun-Eco Holiday VillageSapphire Sun-Eco Holiday Village

The lovely mural on the Laundry brightened my washing day
turned out is “Leatherjacket” – a fish that was caught locally. That’s another one I hadn’t tried so I ordered it (Barry stuck to Beef Schnitzel – not adventurous!). It was an oily fish but tasty, tender and fell apart easily. I think I like the Duck Fish better, but they are both good.

After the meal, we went for a stroll around Eden’s main street. They had put up lots of historic information boards, which were interesting, but we also saw a lot of empty shops for sale or lease. Another community on the decline. It’s such a shame.



I could hear the waves crashing onto the beach as I wrote this. The park owner told us that there was a little plover nesting on the beach, whose eggs had hatched and he had put a fence around them to protect them. We’ll have to go for a walk and take a look tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb